16 faculty earn university teaching honors

· 2 min read

16 faculty earn university teaching honors

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln has announced the recipients of two teaching awards – the 2015 College Distinguished Teaching Awards, and the Annis Chaikin Sorensen Award for outstanding teaching in the humanities.

College Distinguished Teaching Awards are $1,000 awards in recognition of consistent excellence in teaching.

“It’s inspiring to see these faculty members’ teaching contributions to our campus,” said Amy Goodburn, associate vice chancellor. “They are role models for engaging student learning and academic excellence across diverse disciplines.”

Winners of the 2015 College Awards for Distinguished Teaching are:

  • College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources: Dennis Conley, professor of agricultural economics.

  • College of Architecture: Brian Kelly, assistant professor of architecture.

  • College of Arts and Sciences: Mark Anderson, associate professor of earth and atmospheric sciences; Peter Capuano, assistant professor of English; Stacey Waite, assistant professor of English; Iker Gonzalez-Allende, associate professor of modern languages and literatures; Allan Donsig, associate professor of mathematics; Marilyne Stains, assistant professor of chemistry.

  • College of Business Administration: Scott Seavey, assistant professor of accountancy.

  • College of Education and Human Sciences: Lauren Gatti, assistant professor of teaching, learning and teacher education; Soo-Young Hong, assistant professor of child, youth and family studies; Kent Mann, associate professor of practice of educational administration.

  • College of Engineering: Aemal Khattak, associate professor of civil engineering; John Barton, professor of mechanical and materials engineering.

  • Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts: Karen Kunc, professor of art and art history.

Thomas Borstelmann, professor of history, received the Annis Chaikin Sorensen Award for Outstanding Teaching in the Humanities.

Borstelmann joined UNL in 2003 and is a leading scholar of 20th century international relations and the U.S. in the world. Borstelmann has made important contributions to curriculum development, both within the department of history and nationally.

These faculty members will be recognized at Honors Convocation on April 12.

To learn more about the awards, click here.

Recent News