Three faculty named honors program director finalists

· 2 min read

Three faculty named honors program director finalists

Neihardt Hall, home to Nebraska's University Honors Program.
Neihardt Hall, home to Nebraska's University Honors Program.

Three faculty members have been selected as finalists to become the University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s next honors program director.

The finalists, who will interview the week of Jan. 22, are Gwendolyn Bachman, associate professor of biological sciences and interim director of the honors program; Patrice McMahon, associate professor of political science; and Larkin Powell, professor of ecology.

Finalists to become the next director of the University of Nebraska–Lincoln's honors program are (from left) Gwendolyn Bachman, Patrice McMahon and Larkin Powell.

Each candidate will deliver a public presentation on “What Should a 21st Century Honors Program Look Like and How Can Nebraska’s Program be Distinctive.” Each talk is scheduled for an hour, from 3:30 to 4:30 p.m. The presentation schedule is:

  • Jan. 24 — Bachman, Nebraska Union, Heritage Room

  • Jan. 25 — Powell, Gaughan Center, Ubuntu Room (202)

  • Jan. 26 — McMahon, Nebraska Union, Heritage Room

The candidates were selected by a search committee led by Donna Dudney, associate dean in the College of Business. The search was open to associate or full professors at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln.

The new permanent director will replace Patrice Berger, who retired after founding and then leading Nebraska’s honors program for 31 years.

Recent News