Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for March 8

· 3 min read

Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for March 8

Assessment & Impact Summit

Recent achievements for the campus community were earned by Hannah Stoll, Alex Tonon Rosa, Justine LaViolette, Martha Mamo, David Varner, Jeremy Davis, David Cluchey, Zach Penrice, Jeffrey L. Day, Jennifer Davidson, Paris Gunderson, Trevor Lockard, Alex Nachreiner, Mason Smalley, Alex Von Seggern and Peyton Walker.


  • Jennifer Davidson, assistant professor of practice in economics, was honored for being a woman of character, courage and commitment by Nebraska’s Women’s Center during Women’s Week March 1-8. As a part of this recognition, Davidson was invited as a guest of honor to the Women’s History Month Banquet March 7 at Champions Club.

  • Jeffrey L. Day, professor of architecture, has been elected to the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) Board of Directors for a three-year term as an at-large director beginning July 1. As a board member, Day will serve as a liaison between the association and member schools, participate in committee work and advise the board on member issues and concerns.

  • Martha Mamo, department head and professor of agronomy and horticulture, and David Varner, associate director for Nebraska Extension, were among 79 individuals who graduated from the nationwide LEAD21 program Feb. 28. The year-long program seeks to provide leaders in land-grant institutions with enhanced leadership competencies and diversity of perspective through collaboration with peers across the country.


  • Paris Gunderson, Trevor Lockard, Alex Nachreiner, Mason Smalley, Alex Von Seggern and Peyton Walker, undergraduate members of the Nebraska Business Honors Academy, were recently awarded academy blackshirts for their commitment to the organization and its guiding principles.

  • Jeremy Davis, David Cluchey and Zach Penrice, undergraduate students in the College of Journalism and Mass Communications, have been announced as finalists in the National Undergraduate Student Electronic Media Competition. The competition rewards students for accomplishments in audio, video, scriptwriting, web development and academic research. Awards will be presented March 9 at the annual National Broadcasting Society/Alpha Epsilon Rho convention in Philadelphia.

  • Hannah Stoll and Alex Tonon Rosa, graduate students in the Department of Agronomy and Horticulture, won second and third place in the final round of the 2019 Elevator Speech Contest Feb. 21. The contest allowed students to communicate their science research in a short, three-minute presentation to a broad audience. Justine LaViolette, graduate student in the Department of Entomology, received first place.

This column is a regular feature of Nebraska Today. Faculty, staff and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column via email to For more information, call 402-472-8515.

Recent News