Two exhibitions open Oct. 11 at Eisentrager•Howard Gallery

· 2 min read

Two exhibitions open Oct. 11 at Eisentrager•Howard Gallery

"Curtain" by Nicole Hupp, UNL.
Nicole Hupp | Courtesy
"Curtain" by Nicole Hupp, UNL.

Two exhibitions open Oct. 11 at the Eisentrager•Howard Gallery in Richards Hall, in conjunction with the Midwest Society for Photographic Education 2013 Regional Conference.

“Boundaries: The Permeability of Social Constructs” and “MWSPE Scholarship Winners Exhibition” will both be on display through Oct. 26 in the gallery. Gallery hours are 12:30 to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

An opening reception will be held 5 to 7 p.m. Oct. 11 in the gallery. A MWSPE reception is 6 to 8 p.m. Oct. 26 in the gallery during the conference. Both events are free and open to the public.

“Boundaries” is a national exhibition of Master of Fine Arts students working in photographic processes that discusses the social constructs that individuals are bound by and the ways in which they are met, challenged and crossed.

Curated by UNL Master of Fine Arts students Chadric Devin (photography) and Sade Ayorinde (art history), works in this exhibition examine how humans experience themselves both internally and externally and ask the viewer to confront and assess the influence of historical and cultural structures on them. “Boundaries” seeks to determine if these constructs are really binding or if we are able to maneuver beyond and between them and choose how we want to represent ourselves.

Included in the exhibition are works by Evan Baden, Columbia College in Chicago; Thomas Burkett, Virginia Commonwealth University; James Kimura-Green, Louisiana State University; Daniel Leivick, Arizona State University; Diana M. Sanchez, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee; Mazdak Shadkam, Washington State University; Hyounsang Yoo, School of the Art Institute of Chicago; Sarp Yavuz, School of the Art Institute of Chicago; Leonard Suryajaya, School of the Art Institute of Chicago; Sanaz Sohrabi, School of the Art Institute of Chicago; Elizabeth Moran, California College of the Arts; and Daniel Coburn, University of New Mexico.

“MWSPE Scholarship Winners” will feature the works of four scholarship winners: Alaina Hickman, Metropolitan Community College in Omaha; Nicole Hupp, UNL; Kate Allen, University of Iowa; and Heather F. Wetzel, The Ohio State University.

UNL’s Department of Art and Art History is hosting the MWSPE 2013 Conference Oct. 24-27. For more information on the conference, go to

The Eisentrager•Howard Gallery is located on the first floor of Richards Hall. Admission is free and open to the public.

For more information, call 402-472-5522.

Recent News