Undergraduate Juried Exhibition opens Feb. 2

· 3 min read

Undergraduate Juried Exhibition opens Feb. 2

Fatima Al-Jayashi, “Creative Burnout,” 2023.
"Creative Burnout," created in 2023 by Fatima Al-Jayashi, a junior graphic design and psychology major, is one of the artworks featured in the 2024 Undergraduate Juried Exhibition.

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s Eisentrager-Howard Gallery will host the 37th annual Undergraduate Juried Exhibition. The exhibition opens with a First Friday reception, 5-7 p.m. Feb. 2 and continues through March 1.

A closing reception will be held 5-7 p.m. March 1 in the gallery with awards presented at 6 p.m. More than 10 awards will be announced, including the Freshman Award, Sophomore Award and the Faulkner Memorial Awards.

Forty-six undergraduate artists are represented in the exhibit. Mediums range from digital to traditional.

The guest juror is Suzanne Wise, who recently retired from her role as executive director at the Nebraska Arts Council after more than 20 years. The NAC is a state agency that promotes, cultivates and sustains the arts for the people of Nebraska. Her career at NAC began in 1988. She has served as the public art program administrator and managed special initiatives and all grant programs except arts education for the agency. She has served on numerous boards in Nebraska and nationally, including Mid-America Arts Alliance, Kansas City; and the National Assembly of State Arts Agencies, Washington, D.C. She holds an M.A. in art history from the University of Kansas with a specialization in American painting and photography. She held curatorial positions at Sheldon Art Museum, Joslyn Art Museum and Northwestern University’s Block Gallery and has taught at Creighton University and in the University of Nebraska system.

The following students are participating in the exhibition: Dawson Adams, Lola Agena, Fatima Al-Jayashi, Nathan Anderson, Joselyn Andreasen, Payton Becwar, Cassidy Benjamin, Oliver Billig, Corryn Birkeland, Nina Campbell, Darby Carlin, Amy Curtis, Sydney DeRoin, Anna Dirrim, Maya Foxworthy, Madison Geidel, Kate Glass, Mallory Grundman, Melissa Hewitt, Julia Homan, Lindsey Johnson, Ju Ju, Katherine Kastens, Luke Keilig, Carter Krajewski, Elise Kruska, Natalie Leininger, Lizeth Lopez-Garcia, Emily Meng, Ellie Nelson, Parker Park, Taylor Powell, Lim Puoch, Istar Quintero, Sarah Rady, Isaac Rolf, Niko Rurik, Riley Schneider, Kenzie Sheridan, Carlie Sorge, Sophia Strong, Callie Swenson, Jade Wasowicz, Campbell Windrum, Mimi Yu and Jin Zhen.

The Eisentrager-Howard Gallery is located on the first floor of Richards Hall on the university’s City Campus at Stadium Drive and T streets. Gallery hours are noon to 5 p.m., Monday-Thursday. Admission to the gallery is free and open to the public.

For more information on the exhibition, please contact the School of Art, Art History & Design at 402-472-5522 or e-mail schoolaahd@unl.edu.

Follow the gallery on social media via Instagram @eisentragerhoward and Facebook @EHArt Gallery to be informed of any gallery updates.

Recent News