Multicultural Homecoming features 6 alumni sharing experiences with students

· 2 min read

Multicultural Homecoming features 6 alumni sharing experiences with students

Applications sought for Big Ten Academic Leadership Program

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s homecoming celebration features six distinguished alumni of color returning to campus to share expertise within their respective colleges and directly with students.

Organized by the Chancellor’s Commission on the Status of People of Color, the visits are part of Multicultural Homecoming events being offered through Oct. 1.

Participating alumni, year of graduation and respective college are:

  • Kevin Abourezk (2012), Journalism and Mass Communications;
  • Olukemi “Kemi” Akinyemi (2004), Business;
  • Brad Brooks (1996 and 2006), Architecture;
  • Pablo Rangel (2011 and 2013), Arts and Sciences;
  • Eulanda Sanders (1997), Education and Human Sciences; and
  • Susie Owens (2011 and 2019), Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources.

The college visits include guest lectures, panel discussions and other small group gatherings. Alumni will provide guidance about industry trends, connections between theory and practice, and share insights about diversity and inclusion in their profession.

The alumni will come together to interact and meet across campus disciplines at 5 p.m. Sept. 30 in the Wick Alumni Center. The event, which is free and open to the campus community and alumni (RSVP required), will include a 5:40 p.m. presentation by Lawrence Chatters, who is an alumnus (2004 and 2018) and serves as senior associate athletic director for diversity, equity and inclusion with Husker Athletics.

Also as part of Multicultural Homecoming, the Office of Academic Success and Intercultural Services is inducting their fourth class into the Jackie Gaughan Multicultural Center Hall of Fame, 5 to 5:45 p.m. Oct. 1 in the Nebraska Union, Swanson Auditorium.

The hall of fame was created to honor outstanding multicultural alumni who have made a significant impact on students, university and community.

The ceremony is free and open to the public. All recipients of the Jackie Gaughan Multicultural Center Hall of Fame embody inclusive excellence and continue to create positive and sustainable change in the community. The recognition is given to individuals who continue to serve as an advocate and support for students. Their leadership and continued support make them role models to the Husker community.

The 2021 Jackie Gaughan Multicultural Center Hall of Fame award winners are:

  • Romulo “R.J.” Vega, Mexican American Student Association;
  • Cynthia K. Gooch-Grayson, Afrikan Peoples Union;
  • Vernon J Miller, University of Nebraska Inter-Tribal Exchange;
  • Chau Nguyen, Asian Student Union;
  • Kalu Osiri, Dr. Michael W. Combs Legacy Award; and
  • Marty Ramirez, JGMC Influencer Award.

Learn more about Multicultural Homecoming events at Nebraska.

Recent News