Celebration honors youth pre-admitted to Nebraska

· 3 min read

Celebration honors youth pre-admitted to Nebraska

Elizabeth Rohrer of Firth and Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources Harlan Vice Chancellor Mike Boehm.

A recent celebration honored Nebraska youth who are getting a jump-start on college by earning early admittance to the University of Nebraska–Lincoln.

Students earned pre-admittance through their enrollment in Nebraska 4-H, which administers Next Chapter at Nebraska, a program that helps students prepare for college by teaching them skills to reach their academic goals. Sixty-one students were recognized at the celebration.

Mike Boehm, Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources Harlan Vice Chancellor; Abby Freeman, director of admissions at Nebraska; and Kathleen Lodl, Nebraska 4-H program administrator, welcomed the students to campus, providing encouragement to the students as they prepare for their high school careers.

“This is an opportunity to celebrate the academic and leadership potential of these young scholars and the shared efforts of admissions, extension and 4-H as we work to support them in their path to college,” Freeman said.

Following the ceremony, students participated in career exploration activities, learned about university resources available to students and had the opportunity to tour City and East campuses, Memorial Stadium and the State Capitol.

Throughout high school, Next Chapter scholars will engage in events, activities and curriculum where they will participate in career exploration, develop research skills and experience a variety of learning methods that will help them transition to and succeed in college. Topics include reading comprehension, note-taking, college visits, and resume and interview skills.

Honored students, listed by hometown, include:

  • Albion: Jacob Devine

  • Arlington: Jamey Rhea

  • Aurora: Taylor Janda

  • Bancroft: Haley Bovee

  • Cambridge: Autumn Deterding

  • Central City: Megan Blomstedt, Addysen Bryant, John Hostler, Fallon Wells

  • Clarkson: Natalie Brabec

  • Clearwater: Charley Mlnarik

  • Coleridge: Jeremiah Polak

  • Columbus: Elizabeth Adamy, Bo Behlen, Grett Kinnison, Sophie Palmer, Hannah Renner, Rylee Renner, Maia Velecela

  • Curtis: Aretta Brennemann

  • Denton: Julia Soukup

  • Dorchester: Tyler Sysel

  • Eagle: Elijah Bolin

  • Firth: Erin Oldemeyer, Anna Rohrer, Elizabeth Rohrer

  • Hickman: Katie Malina

  • Hooper: Brooklyn Reynolds, Holden von Seggern

  • Imperial: Jesse Krausnick

  • Inland: Garrett Parr

  • Johnson: Maggie Clark

  • Juniata: Hannah Crawford, Claire Kiolbasa

  • Kearney: Rachel Fidler, Charlie Wolford

  • Leigh: Kanyon Held, Makenna Held

  • Lincoln: Brayden Boehle, Jonah Elley-Lanik, Lilly Hanley, Cadi Wilbeck

  • Lodgepole: Allison Lofton

  • Loup City: Ella Jaixen

  • Malcolm: Carman Kinkaid

  • Minden: Connor Carpenter

  • Nebraska City: Andrew Stukenholtz

  • Neligh: Hannah Vraspir

  • North Platte: Kaitlyn Connelly, Mckenna Renner

  • O’Neill: Andrew Koehlmoos

  • Overton: Addison Luther

  • Page: Madison Melcher

  • Plattsmouth: Cody O’Tool, Victoria O’Tool

  • Raymond: Braxton Dalton

  • St. Libory: Gavin Seyler

  • Stapleton: Megan Amos

  • Thurston: Alexis Bodlak

  • Unadilla: Tucker Crownover

  • West Point: Jordan Howell

Learn more about Next Chapter at Nebraska.

Recent News