Alumni advisory council changes name, adds members

· 2 min read

Alumni advisory council changes name, adds members

Artist Matthew Placzek (in white hard hat) watches as the new stainless steel N for the centerpiece of the Alumni Association's remodeled Holling Garden is lowered into place. The statue was positioned by a crane on June 24.
Craig Chandler | University Communication
The Nebraska Alumni Association’s Advisory Council has been renamed the Council of Alumni Ambassadors and has gained seven new members.

The Nebraska Alumni Association’s Advisory Council has been renamed the Council of Alumni Ambassadors. The updated name is a better reflection of the group’s focus on supporting the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and the alumni association though advocacy and ambassadorship.

“This name change was carefully considered as we shift the group to be more inclusive, and we’re really excited about it,” said Jordan Gonzales, coordinator of council. “The group will continue traditions such as robust dialogue with Chancellor Green on university matters and hear faculty presentations. They will also become advocates and ambassadors for their alma mater.”

The Council of Alumni Ambassadors is coordinated by the Nebraska Alumni Association and its members represent all nine colleges and a wide range of class years, geographic communities and business professions. Members serve three-year terms and meet semi-annually on campus to be briefed on issues facing the university and to experience firsthand the programs of campus and the alumni association and lend their input from an alumni perspective.

“The association is making focused efforts to be more diverse and inclusive,” said Shelley Zaborowski, executive director of the Nebraska Alumni Association. “As our student body becomes more diverse, so do the alumni we serve. We expanded the group from 40 to 50 members to be more inclusive and foster diversity of thought, experience, background and perspective.”

Additionally, Zaborowski announced the selection of seven new alumni to the council. Their first meeting will occur on Oct. 9. The seven new members are:

Lawrence (Larry) Bailey ’76 Retried, former dentist Jersey City, New Jersey

Karen Blessen ’73 Graphic Designer, Illustrator, Co-Founder of 29 Pieces Dallas, Texas

Sherri Privitera ’94, ’96 Senior Architect & Senior Principal at Populous Kansas City, Mo.

Daryoush Razavian ’79, ’81 Senior Vice President at Olsson Lincoln, Neb.

Dawn Schaefer ’99 Production Designer, Art Director, Owner at Schaefer Designs Firth, Neb.

Omaid Zabih ’06, ’11 Federal Policy Director at Nebraska Appleseed Lincoln, Neb.

Ryan Wolff ’21 (Student Representative) President, Student Alumni Association Brookfield, Wis.

Learn more about the Council of Alumni Ambassadors.

Recent News