Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for May 31

· 3 min read

Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for May 31


Recent achievements for the campus community were earned by Matthew Carter, Clay Christenson, Josh Davis, Jesaelen Gizotti de Moraes, Claudia Holm, Chad Lammers, Trey Meyer, Kim Todd, Caleb Wehrbein, Richard Wiener, Business Career Center and College of Journalism and Mass Communications.


  • Josh Davis has been named permanent associate vice chancellor for global affairs and senior international officer after joining the executive vice chancellor’s office on an interim basis in January. He will oversee Global Strategies, Education Abroad, programs in English as a Second Language, the International Student and Scholar Office and the Partnership Degree Program at Zhejiang University City College in China. He is leading the office in implementing a comprehensive global engagement strategy to increase the university’s global reach and impact.

  • Kim Todd, associate professor of agronomy and horticulture, was honored April 26 with the Lauritzen Gardens Arborvitae Award for her efforts to nurture a greener Nebraska through education and cultivation. The award is presented on Arbor Day each year to a group or citizen who has made an exceptional contribution to tree planting, tree education and or community greening in Omaha and the region.

  • Richard Wiener, Bessey Professor of psychology, was featured in the American Psychological Association’s Monitor on Psychology for his work with problem-solving courts. In the publication, Wiener discusses therapeutic jurisprudence, or the idea that the law can help improve well-being and solve the mental health and drug problems of those it sees.


  • Matthew Carter, senior vocal performance major, and Trey Meyer, first-year doctoral student in vocal performance, received Glenn Korff Distinguished Undergraduate and Graduate Artist/Scholar Awards for their accomplishments within the school. Intended to recognize and reward excellence in performance, the awards were conferred at the Glenn Korff School of Music’s Honors Day Convocation.

  • Clay Christenson, Jesaelen Gizotti de Moraes, Chad Lammers and Caleb Wehrbein have been named recipients of the 2019-2020 Milton E. Mohr awards. The awards recognize outstanding undergraduate and graduate students in the sciences of biotechnology and engineering based on their academic performance and potential for accomplishments in their specific field.

  • Claudia Holm, senior violin performance major in the Glenn Korff School of Music, has been awarded this year’s Presser Scholarship from The Presser Foundation. The scholarship is given annually to an outstanding music major during or after their junior year at Nebraska and is selected by faculty at the school.


  • The Business Career Center within Nebraska’s College of Business was recently named one of three winners of the Career Leadership Collective’s national Career Innovation Showcase. The center was honored for its innovative peer coach initiative and was chosen from sixteen finalists. Watch Nebraska’s peer coach proposal here.

  • College of Journalism and Mass Communications faculty and students recently received five honors, including three first place and two award of merit recognitions, from The Midwest Broadcast Journalism Association during the Eric Sevareid Awards. Broadcast and journalism programs from Nebraska, South Dakota, North Dakota, Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin competed in the regional event.

This column is a regular feature of Nebraska Today. Faculty, staff and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column via email to For more information, call 402-472-8515.

Recent News