Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for May 18

Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for May 18

Recent achievements for the campus community were earned by Chris Bilder, Shannyn Bird, Jocelyn Daubendiek, Ted Hamann, Aaron Hegarty, Jamie Hyodo, Michelle Ingle, Sophia Kisling, Abby Kurth, Dakota Mathew, Sonoor Majid, David Sellmyer, Sydney Townsend, Susan Twiehaus and Ali Ubeyitogullari.


  • Chris Bilder, professor of statistics, co-authored a study that was named the best 2017 paper to be published in Biometrics, a journal from the International Biometric Society. The study, "Hierarchical Group Testing for Multiple Infections," details a statistical approach that allows clinicians to simultaneously screen multiple patients for multiple infections. Read more about Bilder's research.

  • Ted Hamann, professor of teaching, learning and teacher education, received the inaugural Spotlight Award from the Lincoln Education Association during a May 17 celebration. Hamann was nominated for his role in the successful nomination of Lincoln High School for a Schools of Opportunity Award from the National Education Policy Center. Hamann and his graduate students volunteered to research and draft the Schools of Opportunity nomination.

  • Jamie Hyodo, an assistant professor of marketing, was featured in a WalletHub piece about store credit cards. Hyodo expressed the difference between a store credit card and a loyalty program among other details.

The Materials Research Society honored the achievements of Nebraska’s David Sellmyer. The celebration included (from left) Voula and George Hadjipanayis, Ivan Schuller, Sellmyer, Mike Coey, Jim Rhyne, Claudia Felser, Stu Parkin, Ralph Skomski and Jianing Sun.

  • David Sellmyer, professor of physics and astronomy, and director of the Nebraska Center for Materials and Nanoscience, was honored during the Materials Research Society's spring meeting, April 2-6 in Phoenix, Arizona. The five-day symposium, "Nanoscale Magnetic Structures and Materials," was organized by Sellmyer's friends and colleagues to celebrate his many achievements and contributions to the field. The meeting included more than 30 research talks and a banquet.


  • Shannyn Bird, Jocelyn Daubendiek, Sophia Kisling, Sonoor Majid and Sydney Townsend, all biochemistry students, were inducted into the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Chi Omega Lambda Honor Society. To be inducted into the honor society, students must exhibit excellence in scholarly achievement, research accomplishments and outreach activities. The society is a national nonprofit scientific and educational organization with more than 12,000 members.

  • Aaron Hegarty, a senior journalism major, was selected to participate in the Dow Jones News Fund internship program. The program matches more than 80 undergraduate and graduate students with paid internships in leading news organizations. He will intern at USA Today in McLean, Virginia. As part of the program, Hegarty will join 12 students at the University of Missouri for a week of training before the internship.

Left to right: Michelle Ingle, Abby Kurth, Dakota Mathew and Susan Twiehaus.
Michelle Ingle (from left), Abby Kurth, Dakota Mathew and Susan Twiehaus

  • Michelle Ingle, Abby Kurth, Dakota Mathew and Susan Twiehaus earned recognitions at the eighth annual Hal Leonard Vocal Competition. Mathew, a sophomore music education major, and Twiehaus, a junior voice major, were named North American finalists. Ingle, a senior theatre performance major, was named a North American semi-finalist. Kurth, a junior voice major, received North American honorable mention honors.

  • Ali Ubeyitogullari, a doctoral candidate in food science and technology, received the Honored Student Award at the 2018 American Oil Chemists' Society's Annual Meeting and Expo in Minneapolis, Minnesota, May 6-9. Ubeyitogullari also won the 2018 Manuchehr (Manny) Eijadi Award from the society. His presentation is titled "Enhancing Bioaccessibility of Phytosterols Using Nanoporous Starch Bioaerogels."

This column is a regular feature of Nebraska Today. Faculty, staff and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column via email to For more information, call 402-472-8515