Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for April 19

· 3 min read

Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for April 19

Tulips blooming on the south side of the Coliseum signal the start of spring at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln.
Greg Nathan | University Communication
Tulips blooming on the south side of the Coliseum signal the start of spring at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln.

Recent achievements for the campus community were earned by Agronomy Club, Alex Baumert, the College of Architecture, the Department of Agronomy and Horticulture, Engineering Student Advisory Board, Amanda Lager Gleason, Rubén Darió Gómez, Kolby Grint, Zhengxiong Li, T.J. McAndrew, Scott Minchow, Angela Pannier, Joshua Reznicek, Ben Searl, Jacob Teeter, Jessica Walnut, Brian Waters and Sam Wortman.


  • Amanda Lager Gleason, Graduate Programs Specialist in the Biological Systems Engineering Department, and Scott Minchow, Instrument Maker III in the Biological Systems Engineering Department, are the recipients of the College of Engineering’s Staff Awards for Exemplary Service and Support.

  • Angela Pannier, professor of biological systems engineering, has been honored with the Holling Family Master Teacher Award from the College of Engineering. The award is presented annually to an engineering instructor who has demonstrated effectiveness as an adviser, mentor and teacher.


  • Rubén Darió Gómez, a second-year Doctor of Musical Arts student in the Glenn Korff School of Music, has won the North American Student Composer Competition organized and sponsored by MetWinds, a Boston-area wind ensemble. As the winner of the competition, he will receive a $1,000 commission to write a five to eight-minute piece for MetWinds, which will premiere in November 2020 during the ensemble’s 50th anniversary celebration.

  • John-Paul Ore, doctoral candidate in computer science and engineering, has accepted a position as an assistant professor in the Department of Computer Science at North Carolina State University. Ore will defend his dissertation, “Dimensional Analysis for Robot Software Without Developer Annotations,” in August.

  • Jacob Teeter, graduate student in chemistry, has received a Department of Energy Office of Science Graduate Student Research award for his current research at the university. The awards are presented each year to students nationwide whose work reflects the mission of the Office.


  • Nebraska’s Agronomy Club recently received the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources Week Outstanding Undergraduate Student Organization Award. The club was honored for its recent increase in active membership and service-learning events at the university.

  • The College of Architecture took home several faculty awards during the 107th annual Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture Conference in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Honorees include instructors Sarah Deyong, Jason Griffiths, Marc Maxey and Zachary Tate Porter.

  • Nebraska’s Engineering Student Advisory Board was named Most Outstanding Large Council at the National Association of Engineering Student Councils’ Engineering Leadership Summit March 15 and 16 in Fort Collins, Colorado. The conference gathered engineering students from across the country to learn how to better connect with administration, gather event ideas and improve their councils.

  • The Department of Agronomy and Horticulture recently honored its faculty, staff and students during an awards banquet March 28 at the Hillcrest Country Club. Awardees include Alex Baumert, Kolby Grint, Zhengxiong Li, T.J. McAndrew, Joshua Reznicek, Ben Searl, Jessica Walnut, Brian Waters and Sam Wortman.

This column is a regular feature of Nebraska Today. Faculty, staff and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column via email to For more information, call 402-472-8515.

Recent News