30 students named to Franco's List for character, integrity

· 2 min read

30 students named to Franco’s List for character, integrity

Students named to the 2017 Franco's List stand with the award's namesake, Juan Franco, vice chancellor for student affairs at Nebraska, on April 19.
Students named to the 2017 Franco's List stand with the award's namesake, Juan Franco, vice chancellor for student affairs at Nebraska, on April 19.

Thirty University of Nebraska-Lincoln students were recognized last month as outstanding agents of character and integrity by being named to Franco’s List.

Students who attain the highest level of academic achievement are recognized by their academic dean through the Dean’s List. Similarly, Franco’s List – named after Juan Franco, the university’s vice chancellor for student affairs – recognizes students at Nebraska who demonstrate characteristics essential to being a person of integrity.

Franco’s List awardees represent six building blocks of character: caring, citizenship, commitment, dependability, open-mindedness and respect.

All of the recipients were nominated by a university community member and were ultimately selected by a council of their peers, the vice chancellor for student affairs’ Character Council.

Recipients were announced at an awards ceremony April 19.

The following is a list, by hometown, of students named to Franco’s List, along with their year in school during the spring semester and academic major(s).


  • Auburn: Tyler Barker, sophomore, computer engineering.

  • Clay Center: Krista Johnson, sophomore, athletic training.

  • Elkhorn: Stephanie Brummond, senior, management.

  • Falls City: Taylor O’Brien, freshman, biochemistry.

  • Fremont: Corey Archer, junior, psychology and sociology.

  • Grand Island: Angelica Carlini, junior, marketing and management.

  • Hickman: Jonathan Baker, senior, communication studies.

  • Kenesaw: Trevor Burr, junior, accounting.

  • Lincoln: Khu Htoo, junior, management and accounting; Josiah Johnson, sophomore, biological systems engineering; Ly Nguyen, sophomore, art; Shea Thompson, freshman, art; Sidney VanDyke-Ries, senior, psychology.

  • Omaha: Julian Davis, junior, chemical engineering; Taylor Lofdahl, junior, agricultural education; Madison Pohlman, freshman, political science and global studies; Charlotte Sjulin, senior, biology; Joe Zach, junior, accounting and finance.

  • Ralston: Amber Scott, junior, elementary education.

  • Union: Blake Lechner, junior, management.

  • Waverly: Sarah Schuelke, sophomore, agricultural education and pre-veterinary science.

  • York: Grant Suddarth, sophomore, agricultural economics.


  • Colorado Springs, Colorado: Jessica George, graduate student, journalism and mass communications.

  • Fort Collins, Colorado: Regan Burnham, sophomore, management.

  • Springfield, Illinois: Nick Underwood, senior, mechanical engineering.

  • Leawood, Kansas: Libby Gentry, junior, computer science and management.

  • Overland Park, Kansas: Alyvia Simmons, sophomore, pre-speech-language pathology.

  • Southaven, Mississippi: Stephany Maness, graduate student, law.

  • Raleigh, North Carolina: Greg Wilson, graduate student, educational administration.

  • Port-au-Prince, Haiti: Quincey Bernard, sophomore, international business.

Recent News