September 20, 2023

NU system names 2023-25 fellows for leadership development program

On June 23 the University of Nebraska Board of Regents approved a tuition rate freeze.

Sixteen University of Nebraska colleagues have been selected to participate in a system-wide program that aims to develop the next generation of higher education leaders.

NU’s “Developing Excellence in Academic Leaders” program, sponsored by the Office of the President together with the system provost and campus chief academic officers, offers an intensive two-year curriculum that helps participants develop their leadership skills, expand their networks, and explore key issues and challenges facing the University of Nebraska and higher education. NU DEAL launched last fall with an inaugural class of 16 fellows representing the four university campuses.

The 2023-25 NU DEAL fellows, selected by their campus leadership:

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

  • Shannon Bartelt-Hunt, chair, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Peter Eklund, professor in the Glenn Korff School of Music and Faculty Senate president-elect
  • Deepak Keshwani, associate professor of biological systems engineering and faculty fellow in the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
  • Catherine Wilson, associate professor in the College of Law and chair of the Chancellor’s Commission on the Status of People of Color

University of Nebraska at Omaha

  • Randy Adkins, senior associate dean, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Melissa Berke, associate dean, College of Communication, Fine Arts and Media
  • Robin Gandhi, director, School of Interdisciplinary Informatics
  • Dan Hawkins, director of online development, Division of Innovative and Learning-Centric Initiatives

University of Nebraska at Kearney

  • Brooke Envick, associate dean of faculty and strategic initiatives, College of Business and Technology
  • Julie Lanz, associate dean, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Frank Tenkorang, chair of accounting, finance and economics, College of Business and Technology
  • Melissa Wuellner, associate professor of biology, College of Arts and Sciences

University of Nebraska Medical Center

  • Amir Farhangpour, associate dean for clinical operations, College of Dentistry
  • Brandon Grimm, vice dean, College of Public Health
  • Heidi Keeler, director, College of Nursing Continuing InterProfessional Development and Innovation, and assistant vice chancellor in the Office of Community Engagement
  • Ashley Wysong, chair, Department of Dermatology

Over the course of the program, the fellows will hear presentations from University of Nebraska System representatives and members of the Board of Regents, visit each NU campus to engage with senior leaders, and discuss timely higher education topics including:

  • Strategic planning
  • Philanthropy
  • Higher education finances
  • Facilities and infrastructure
  • Opportunities and challenges related to teaching, learning and research
  • Academic leadership skills and styles

Applications for the 2024-26 cohort of the NU Deal fellows will open next spring. More information about the program is available here.