July 20, 2017

Across the pond: 70 students participating in Nebraska at Oxford

University of Oxford

University of Oxford

Seventy University of Nebraska-Lincoln students are participating in the 29th annual Nebraska at Oxford program July 16 through Aug. 12.

Sponsored by the university’s College of Business, the global immersion program provides four weeks of courses at the University of Oxford in England, the oldest university in the English-speaking world. Nebraska at Oxford is the university’s most popular study abroad program with more than 1,900 alumni who now live in 39 states and 10 countries.

“The Nebraska at Oxford program is the premier study abroad program offered at the university because of our relationship with the faculty and staff at Oxford,” said Kathy Farrell, interim dean of the College of Business. “Our students gain a competitive edge in the job market by having the opportunity to study at this prestigious university. We also know from the program’s alumni that it provides an experience they will never forget.”

The program is open to all undergraduate students with a minimum 2.5 GPA. Business students take two lecture-tutorial courses on British political and international economic policy for six hours of academic credit at Nebraska. Non-business students can enroll in the course Shakespeare’s Dramatic Arts. Lecturers for the courses are world-renowned faculty from the University of Oxford.

Cultural excursions supplement course lectures and tutorials, including having high tea, attending horse races at Sandown Park and a West End show in London, and experiencing a Royal Shakespeare Company performance in Stratford-upon-Avon.

Anne Greff

Anne Greff, a junior economics major from Lincoln, said she chose to apply for the Nebraska at Oxford program because it enables her to complete six economics credit hours while exploring English culture.

“I’m most excited to get to explore new places with new friends,” she said. “Traveling in a new country is the perfect opportunity to bond with people and get to know them.”

Greff’s blog is here.

The following students are participating in Nebraska at Oxford. They are listed by hometown with their year in school and academic major(s).


  • Aurora: Alex Schneider, junior, accounting.

  • Blue Springs: Alexis Thrasher, junior, child, youth and family studies.

  • Crete: Matthew Siedhoff, senior, accounting.

  • Elkhorn: Lauren Maciejewski, junior, finance; Trevor Willenborg, senior, marketing and international business.

  • Grand Island: Madison Smith, senior, economics and biological sciences; Emily Thayer, senior, management.

  • Hastings: Alex Keller, senior, biological sciences; Jacob Parker, senior, business administration.

  • Humboldt: Casey McNealy, junior, accounting.

  • Johnson: Brooklyn Westenburg, junior, supply chain management and accounting.

  • Lincoln: Nadir Al Kharusi, senior, global studies and economics; Eric Barton, senior, finance and economics; Lauren Bruning, junior, global studies and sociology; Anne Greff, junior, economics; Talia Halperin, senior, international business; Jing Li, senior, finance; Matthew Meginnis, senior, accounting; Catherine Nyberg, senior, finance; Jennifer Pitsch, junior, economics.

  • Moorefield: Sage Schmidt, senior, management (entrepreneurship and innovation).

  • North Bend: Makenna Kreikemeier, senior, business administration.

  • Omaha: Jacob Baron, senior, business administration; Garrett Conte, junior, English; Kelsey Coziahr, junior, biological sciences and economics; Joseph Dooley, senior, business administration and marketing; Abbie Kubat, junior, economics; Steven Mah, senior, journalism, and advertising and public relations; Emani Marshall-Loving, senior, political science; Jessica Puetz, senior, economics; Samuel Stevenson, junior, economics and finance.

  • Papillion: Grant Horton, junior, management and marketing.

  • Sidney: Nicholas Castner, senior, marketing and management (entrepreneurship and innovation).

  • Snyder: Madison Kreikemeier, senior, business administration.

  • Wood River: Shelby Woitaszewski, senior, management and marketing.


  • Mount Prospect, Illinois: Kyler Lecomte, senior, accounting.

  • Prospect Heights, Illinois: Dean Simmons, senior, economics.

  • Winfield, Illinois: Samantha Nair, senior, economics.

  • Topeka, Kansas: Luke Schnacker, junior, finance and economics.

  • Huntington Woods, Michigan: Madison Cross, senior, marketing.

  • Eagan, Minnesota: Jack Schaefer, junior, supply chain management.

  • Plymouth, Minnesota: Robert Elsner, senior, economics.

  • Prior Lake, Minnesota: Rachel Kleist, junior, economics.

  • Woodbury, Minnesota: Lauren LeTourneau, senior, supply chain management; Kelsey Pflieger, junior, economics and marketing.

  • Lake St. Louis, Missouri: Christian Demand, senior, business administration.

  • Garretson, South Dakota: Jennifer Baum, senior, finance.

  • Hartford, South Dakota: Garrett Miles, senior, marketing.

  • Sioux Falls, South Dakota: Kevin Nelson, senior, finance; Cole VanderWoude, junior, economics.

  • Brookfield, Wisconsin: Patricia Altenbach, senior, accounting.

  • Schofield, Wisconsin: Paris Gunderson, senior, actuarial science and finance.

  • Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Donald Strasheim, senior, English language arts.

  • Changchun, China: Meihui Li, junior, accounting and economics.

  • Shenzhen, China: Chenkai Wang, senior, marketing; Linyi Zhang, junior, chemistry and international business.

  • Wuhan, China: Hongling Tang, junior, economics.

  • Wuxi, China: Bowen Cui, senior, business administration.

  • Xi’an, China: Linting Chen, senior, finance; Xuanting Liu, senior, finance; Wen Yang, senior, finance.

  • Georgetown, Malaysia: Carmen Quah, junior, supply chain management.

  • Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia: Jia Lai, senior, actuarial science and finance (banking and risk management); Farida Musa, junior, international business; Dilraj Singh, senior, mathematics; Se Tan, senior, agribusiness.

  • Petaling Jaya, Malaysia: Andrea Lim, senior, advertising and public relations and English.

  • Selangor, Malaysia: Ahmad Abd Razak, senior, economics.

  • Subang Jaya, Malaysia: Naim Firdaos, senior, finance; Hau Low, senior, economics.

News Release Contact(s)

Executive Director of Communications, Marketing and External Relations, College of Business