Seven faculty earn professorships

· 4 min read

Seven faculty earn professorships

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln has awarded professorships to seven faculty members who will be recognized at Honors Convocation on April 24.

Four faculty were named as Willa Cather/Charles Bessey Professors. The professorships were established in 2001 to recognize faculty members with the rank of full professor who have established exceptional records of distinguished scholarship or creative activity. Individuals awarded the professorship may elect either the Cather or Bessey designation. They are known as Cather or Bessey professors and professor of (field). Learn more about these professorships here.

  • Gwendolyn Foster, professor of English, was hired as an assistant professor in 1996, promoted to associate professor in 2001 and to full professor in 2005. Foster is an important voice in film studies. Her scholarly work includes 13 authored or edited books, many refereed and invited articles and keynote lectures in such places as Columbia University and the Museum of Modern Art. She serves as an editor for journals and two book series and is an innovative and tireless teacher.

  • Kimberly Tyler, professor of sociology, joined UNL in 2004 as an associate professor and was promoted to full professor in 2010. She has published 64 peer-reviewed articles, primarily in specialized journals in sociology. She has obtained more than $1.4 million in National Institutes of Health grants, including a K01 award and several smaller grants. Tyler works extensively with both graduate and undergraduate students and received the College’s Excellence in Graduate Education award in 2013.

  • Melanie Simpson, professor of biochemistry, joined UNL in 2002. Simpson leads campus research focused on molecular mechanisms that contribute to advanced prostate cancer. Her laboratory contributions are recognized in publications across a wide range of high-impact journals and books. She has recently taken on new leadership roles in graduate education at UNL as co-leader through a successful National Institutes of Health T32 grant proposal. Simpson was awarded the Susan J. Rosowski professorship in 2011.

  • Rodney Moxley, professor of veterinary medicine and biomedical sciences, has been at UNL since 1983. Moxley’s direction of collaborative research and development led to licensing of the first vaccine in the world for Escherichia coli (E. coli) in cattle. His work is nationally and internationally recognized. Moxley is active in professional organizations, serving on editorial boards, grant panels and national committees.

Two faculty members were named Susan J. Rosowski Associate Professors. The professorship recognizes faculty at the associate professor level who have achieved distinguished records of scholarship or creative activity and who show exceptional promise for future excellence. For more information on the professorship, click here.

  • Mehmet Can Vuran was named Susan J. Rosowski Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering. Can Vuran joined UNL as an assistant professor in 2007 and was promoted to associate professor in 2013. During his time at UNL, he has established himself as a highly-regarded researcher in wireless communication networks and has engaged in a large number of successful interdisciplinary collaborations. He received a National Science Foundation Career grant and has been the principle investigator on seven external grants, totaling more than $1.7 million. Can Vuran has a strong record of engaging and mentoring undergraduate students in research.

  • Kathleen Rudasill was named Susan J. Rosowski Associate Professor of Educational Psychology. Her work on understanding how the individual differences in children and adolescents and how those differences contribute to academic and social success in school has received national attention. Since joining UNL in 2011, she has been awarded $1.4 million in grants as either the principle investigator or co-principle investigator. Last spring, she was honored by the College of Education and Human Sciences with the Emerging Scholar Research/Creative Activity Award. Rudasill is an innovative teacher and has introduced interactive technology into the classroom to maximize her students’ engagement with and understanding of course material.

And, one faculty member was named an Aaron Douglas/John E. Weaver Professor of Agronomy and Horticulture. The professorship was established in 2008 to recognize faculty members with the rank of full professor who demonstrate sustained and extraordinary levels of teaching excellence and national visibility for instructional activities and/or practice. For more information on the award, click here.

  • Martha Mamo was named Aaron Douglas/John E. Weaver Professor of Agronomy and Horticulture. Mamo has received numerous awards recognizing her innovativeness and creativity, including the University of Nebraska Outstanding Teaching and Instructional Creativity Award in 2015. She has one of the most active teaching programs and has achieved national recognition among soil scientists, crop scientists, and science educators. Mamo has made significant contributions to undergraduate, graduate, and extended education programming.

Recent News