Scholarships to be renamed in honor of Marty Riemenschneider

· 2 min read

Scholarships to be renamed in honor of Marty Riemenschneider

Marty Riemenschneider

Dean Maria Marron of the College of Journalism and Mass Communications has renamed scholarships funded by the Nebraska Broadcasters Association as the George M. “Marty” Riemenschneider Nebraska Broadcasters Association Scholarships.

Each year the Nebraska Broadcasters Association awards scholarships to students from the College of Journalism and Mass Communications based upon certain criteria. The students must be pursuing a major in broadcasting, have earned at least 60 credit hours and be recommended by the scholarship committee of the college.

“It is appropriate that we honor Marty in this way,” Marron said. “He has been an advocate for education and an active partner with us for many years. We are truly grateful to Marty and the Nebraska Broadcasters Association.”

Riemenschneider was president and executive director of the Nebraska Broadcasters Association from 2002 until 2014 when he became president emeritus. Under his leadership, the organization grew substantially and offered an ever-increasing number of member benefits. He was one of the founding organizers of the Nebraska Amber Alert program and served on the State Emergency Communications Committee.

In January 2013, the Nebraska Broadcasters announced a $100,000 gift to the college’s broadcasting program. The gift is given over five years and is used to fund equipment acquisition and maintenance. This gift provided a much needed upgrade of the television and radio operations at the college. Additionally, it provides students with the opportunity to work with the latest technology.

The Nebraska Broadcasters Association was formed in 1934 to advance the best interests of the free, local, over-the-air, full-service radio (and later television) broadcast industry in Nebraska. For more information, go to

Recent News