New Innocents Society, Mortar Board members to be inducted

· 2 min read

New Innocents Society, Mortar Board members to be inducted

Members of Mortar Board and the Innocents Society participate in an Ivy Day ceremony at UNL. The annual event started at UNL in 1889.

Students, faculty and alumni will be honored by UNL at its annual Ivy Day ceremonies on April 19.

The event, co-sponsored by Mortar Board and the Innocents Society, recognizes the outstanding contribution of students selected to serve in the two organizations, as well as the achievements of current members and notable underclassmen and seniors.

Ceremonies begin at 10 a.m. at the Nebraska Champions Club, 707 Stadium Drive, and conclude with the traditional planting of the ivy by the 2014-15 presidents of the societies, Andrew “AJ” Blazek for Mortar Board and Joe Farley for the Innocents Society. Both are from Omaha.

Mary B. Marcy, president of Dominican University in San Rafael, Calif., will give the keynote address. A UNL graduate and a native of Sheridan County, Marcy is a former president of the Black Masque Chapter of Mortar Board.

Honorary memberships in the Innocents Society will be presented to Donde Plowman, James Jr. and Susan Stuart Endowed Dean of the College of Business Administration; Susan Voss, student development and events director for the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources; and Andre Fortune, director of the Office of Academic Success and International Services, and the Jackie Gaughan Multicultural Center.

Honorary Mortar Board memberships will be presented to Bill Avery, Nebraska state senator; Tim Clare, Lincoln attorney and University of Nebraska regent; and Scott Winter, assistant professor of news-editorial in the College of Journalism and Mass Communications.

The Innocents Society inducts 13 new members each spring, with selection based on leadership, scholarship and service to the university and greater community. The Innocents Society was founded in 1903 to promote the spirit of the university and is the chancellor’s senior honorary. It is not affiliated with any national organization.

New members of Mortar Board are tapped into the Black Masque Chapter each spring by Mortar Boarders wearing black masks and robes. The 28 new members were selected on the basis of outstanding scholarship, leadership and service to the university and community.

A news release listing the new Innocents Society and Mortar Board members is available online. The release includes links to photographs and biographies of the students.

Recent News