April 13, 2015

MOU established with Dubai-based hospitality academy

UNL has signed a general memorandum of understanding with the Emirates Academy of Hospitality Management in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

The MOU is intended to facilitate academic collaboration between the academy and UNL’s hospitality, restaurant and tourism management program. It is also a culmination of visits by UNL faculty and students to the academy’s campus in Dubai.

“We are very excited about this MOU, because it will increase study abroad opportunities for our students at one of the premier hospitality schools,” said Marilynn Schnepf, program director of hospitality, restaurant and tourism management. “Dubai is a top tourist destination for world travelers and exposure to this environment will enhance global preparedness of our students.”

The academy is one of the world’s leading hospitality business management schools and an integral part of the global luxury hotel company, Jumeirah Group. It is a leading provider of university-level hospitality business education and offers both undergraduate and postgraduate degrees designed to develop the hospitality leaders of the future. The academy works in academic association with Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne and all programs of study are fully accredited by the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research in the United Arab Emirates, the Institute of Hospitality in the United Kingdom and International Centre of Excellence in Tourism and Hospitality Education in Australia. It is also a higher-education member of the Council of International Schools.

“We are delighted to celebrate this partnership with UNL and to strengthen ties between the United States and the United Arab Emirates,” said Ron Hilvert, managing director of the Emirates Academy of Hospitality Management. “We look forward to welcoming UNL students and faculty to EAHM and to experience all that Dubai has to offer.”

Hospitality, restaurant and tourism management at UNL is a joint program between the College of Education and Human Sciences and the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources.