Five to participate in CIC leadership program

· 2 min read

Five to participate in CIC leadership program

The Office of the Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs is sponsoring the participation of five UNL faculty members in the Committee on Institutional Cooperation’s Academic Leadership Program.

The fellows for the 2015-16 academic year are: Tala Awada, professor in the School of Natural Resources and interim associate dean in Agricultural Research Division and interim director of Nebraska Agricultural Experiment Station in the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources; Timothy Carr, professor and chair of nutrition and health sciences; Donna Dudney, associate professor of finance and associate dean in the College of Business Administration; Frauke Hachtmann, professor of advertising and public relations and associate dean in the College of Journalism and Mass Communications; and Elizabeth Theiss-Morse, professor of political science and associate dean in the College of Arts and Sciences.

This year’s fellows will attend the first seminar in early November at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, followed by one in February at the University of Chicago, and the third in April at the University of Maryland.

The Academic Leadership Program) is one of the CIC’s most successful leadership initiatives. Established in 1989, the program develops the academic leadership and managerial skills of nominated faculty who have demonstrated exceptional ability and academic promise. The program addresses the challenges of academic administration at major research universities, while helping faculty members prepare to meet those challenges.

In total, 23 UNL faculty members have participated in the ALP since 2011 and all have significant leadership positions on campus. Associate Vice Chancellor and ALP liaison, Lance C. Pérez says, “The Academic Leadership is one of the many benefits UNL receives from its membership in the CIC. ALP alumnus may be found in high-level leadership positions at many prominent universities. UNL’s 23 past ALP fellows continue to serve the campus and lead important academic initiatives.”

For more information on the five UNL faculty who will participate in the program, go to A list of past participants is also available.

For information about the CIC’s Academic Leadership Program, contact Lance C. Pérez, associate vice chancellor for academic affairs, at or 402-472-3751.

Recent News