Faculty, grads, students honored by national engineering group

· 3 min read

Faculty, grads, students honored by national engineering group

Suat Irmak, H. W. Eberhard Distinguished Professor in BSE, received the John Deere Gold Medal.

Numerous UNL faculty, graduates and students were honored at this month’s international conference of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers in Montreal.

Mark Riley, head of UNL’s Department of Biological Systems Engineering, said ASABE annually gives out three Gold Medal Awards as its highest level of distinction. Two of the three awards this year went to UNL:

  • Suat Irmak, H. W. Eberhard Distinguished Professor in BSE, received the John Deere Gold Medal, which honors achievement through engineering for improved manipulation, use and conservation of soil water, and that has resulted in applications of a new concept, art or science that advanced agriculture. Irmak also received the Heermann Sprinkler Award, which honors professionals in research, development, extension, education or industry that have made significant contributions to the improvement of efficient and effective sprinkler irrigation.

  • David Jones, associate dean, College of Engineering, received the Massey Ferguson Educational Gold Medal, which honors those whose dedication to the spirit of learning and teaching in the field of agricultural engineering has advanced agricultural knowledge and practice, and whose efforts serve as an inspiration to others.

Curt Weller, jointly appointed in BSE and Food Science and Technology, was one of 12 members in the international organization to be installed as an ASABE Fellow. One of the others so honored, Randy Taylor of Oklahoma State University, received his doctorate through UNL’s Department of Biological Systems Engineering.

Weller also received a Presidential Citation for his support of the agricultural and biological professional engineering exam.

Roger Hoy, professor and director of the Nebraska Tractor Test Laboratory, received the SMV Technologies Ergonomics, Safety and Health Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions which advance agricultural and biological safety and health.

Matt Helmers of Iowa State University, a doctorate graduate of UNL’s BSE department, received the G.B. Gunlogson Countryside Engineering Award in recognition of excellence in environmental engineering.

In just its second year of competition, the UNL student team placed first in the Fountain Wars. The team is advised and mentored by Derek Heeren.

Lauren Wondra, a recent recipient of her B.S. in Biological Systems Engineering and current BSE graduate student, is an officer in the national student organization.

Krishnamoorthy Pichai, a UNL Food Science and Technology graduate student, received second place in the research paper competition.

Riley noted that the president of ASABE for this conference was Lalit Verma, the first Ph.D. graduate of UNL’s BSE department. Verma also received the James R. and Karen A. Gilley Academic Leadership Award.

Recent News