Faculty earn teaching awards

· 2 min read

Faculty earn teaching awards

Carole Levin, Willa Cather professor of history and chair of the medieval and Renaissance studies program, has earned a Fulbright award and will conduct research at the University of York.
Troy Fedderson | University Communications
Carole Levin

UNL has awarded recipients of two teaching awards – the 2014 College Distinguished Teaching Awards and the Annis Chaikin Sorensen Award for outstanding teaching in the humanities.

“These faculty have made important contributions to UNL’s teaching community,” said Amy Goodburn, associate vice chancellor. “They inspire their students and their colleagues with their passion and commitment to student learning.”

Carole Levin, professor of history, received the Sorensen Award. Levin joined UNL in 1998 and has served as the Director of the Medieval and Renaissance Studies Program since 2007. Her reputation as a scholar of Elizabethan and early Stuart England is one of the highest in the U.S. and extends internationally. Levin is a proactive mentor of graduate students at UNL and demonstrates her devotion to the success of these students, as well as every student she meets in lectures and conferences.

“As a member of the Teaching Council and a reviewer, I’m inspired by the commitment and contributions of our faculty awardees. These faculty represent the very best of teaching: scholarship, engagement, rigor, passion and sound teaching practice,” said Laurie Bellows, associate dean of graduate studies.

College Distinguished Teaching Awards are $1,000 awards in recognition of consistent excellence in teaching. Winners of the 2014 College Awards for Distinguished Teaching are:

College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources: Bryan Reiling, associate professor of animal science.

College of Arts and Sciences: Mark Brittenham, associate professor of mathematics; Sergio Wals, assistant professor of political science; Catherine Johnson, lecturer of modern languages and literatures; Shari Stenberg, associate professor of English; Rebecca Lai, professor of chemistry; Petronela Radu, associate professor of mathematics.

College of Business Administration: Scott Friend, assistant professor of marketing.

College of Education and Human Sciences: Theresa Catalano, assistant professor of teaching, learning and teacher education; Sheree Moser, assistant professor of practice of child, youth and family studies; Malinda Eccarius, assistant professor of practice of special education and communication disorders.

College of Engineering: Paul Harmon, associate professor of construction management; Mehrdad Negahban, professor of mechanical and materials engineering.

Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts: Susan Levine Ourada, associate professor of music.

College of Law: Adam Thimmesch, assistant professor of law.

The faculty members will be recognized at Honors Convocation on April 13.

Recent News