Call issued for open professorships

· 2 min read

Call issued for open professorships

The Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs distributed a call on Sept. 17 for open professorships in 2015-2016. Eligible faculty not currently holding a University Professorship may be nominated.

The following professorships are available for new appointment:

  • George Holmes University Professorship

  • Willa Cather Professorship and Charles Bessey Professorship

  • Aaron Douglas Professorship and John E. Weaver Professorship

  • Susan J. Rosowski Professorship

The Holmes professorship is in recognition of UNL’s most eminent faculty members who have shown an extraordinary level of scholarly or creative achievement and clear potential for continuing accomplishments. The professorship is funded by donors through the University of Nebraska Foundation and includes a $15,000 five-year renewable stipend.

The Cather/Bessey, Douglas/Weaver and Rosowski professorships are intended to recognize outstanding faculty members for their contributions in research or teaching and promise for future excellence. The Office of the Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs funds these professorships. The Cather/Bessey and Douglas/Weaver professorships include a $5,000 annual stipend. The Rosowski professorship carries a $3,000 stipend and is only available to faculty at the associate professor rank.

Applications for professorships are due from the college dean’s offices to the Office of Academic Affairs on Nov. 3. Please refer to for more information about each professorship and for application instructions.

Recent News