Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for May 1-7

· 3 min read

Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for May 1-7

The living room space of the Bucktown House in Chicago, designed by Jeffrey Day's architectural firm Min|Day.
Paul Crosby | Courtesy photos
The living room space of the Bucktown House in Chicago, designed by Jeffrey Day's architectural firm Min|Day.

Members of the UNL community who were featured in award announcements between May 1-7 include Jeffrey Day, Connie Reimers-Hild, the Department of Civil Engineering, and 37 students — including four from the College of Journalism and Mass Communications and 33 studying biotechnology and engineering fields.


Jeffrey Day’s architectural firm Min|Day won two design awards for the Bucktown House in Chicago. The project earned an American Institute of Architects San Francisco Citation Award for Interior Architecture. It also won a citation for architectural interiors in the 2015 Residential Architect Design Awards. Day is a professor of architecture. For more information, go to

Connie Reimers-Hild has been named associate director of the University of Nebraska’s Rural Futures Institute. Reimers-Hild previously served as unit leader and community vitality educator at the Kimmel Education and Research Center in Nebraska City. She will work closely with the institute’s core team to enhance RFI’s work and to develop strong relationships with university faculty and external partners. For more information go to


• Four undergraduates from the College of Journalism and Mass Communications have been named Omaha World-Herald fellows.

The students, Colleen Fell, Tyler Meyer, Erica Stewart-Finkenstaedt and Daniel Wheaton, will serve as fellows at the newspaper in the fall.

The students took part in Real World I course (a collaboration between UNL and the World-Herald) in the spring semester. They will contribute stories and/or photos to the paper, working alongside its journalists and photographers. They will also continue their studies at the college during the semester.

• The Milton E. Mohr Awards Program honored 33 outstanding students in biotechnology and engineering. The awards, created in 1989, are based on academic performance and potential for accomplishments in a specific field. For more information, go to

Students who received scholarships (listed by department) are:

Agronomy and Horticulture — Quinn Charling, Shiyi Feng, Jared Seier, Josh Wehrbein

Animal Science — Laura Gorecki, Haley Kizer, Maci Lienemann, Alissa Martindale

Biochemistry — Sierra Hansen, Matthew O’Dell, Logan Richards, Samuel Taylor, Boqiang Taylor

Chemistry — Brett Begley, Schuyler Chambers, Ryan Geisert, Kathryn Miller

Entomology — Hillary Fischer

Food Science and Technology — Erica Marshall, Shannon Rezac

Microbiology — Samuel Eastman, Katherine Lagerstrom

Students who received fellowships (listed by department) are:

Agronomy and Horticulture — Rodrigo Werle

Animal Science — Renatta Gomes

Biochemistry — Shelbi Christgen

Biological Sciences — Andrew Demers, Alexander Vogel

Chemistry — Jacob Johnson, Lei Li

Food Science and Technology — Joao Carlos Gomes Neto

Natural Resources — Andrei Snyman

Plant Pathology — Margarita Marroquin-Guzman

Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences — Ting Jia


• The Department of Civil Engineering was a grand-prize winner in the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists’ annual Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science competition. The “University Research Category” award was for civil engineering’s ” Influence of Selected Land Application Strategies on the Fate and Transport of Antimicrobials and Antimicrobial Resistance Genes in the Agricultural Environment” project, which it developed in a partnership with the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Agricultural Research Service. The project is designed to identify sustainable farming practices that can reduce the spread of antibiotics and antibiotic resistant genes in agricultural settings. For more information, go to

This column is a regular feature of UNL Today. Faculty, staff and students can submit their achievements to be considered for this column via email to For more information, call 402-472-8515.

Recent News