UNL reaches highest rank in National Academy of Inventors

· 1 min read

UNL reaches highest rank in National Academy of Inventors

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln has joined the highest level of institutional membership within the National Academy of Inventors.

On Feb. 9, the academy announced UNL as one of its five inaugural Sustaining Member Institutions. New York University, Texas Tech University, the University of Central Florida and the University of South Florida also received the designation, which will provide additional opportunities to highlight research and emerging technologies.

Founded in 2010, the National Academy of Inventors is a nonprofit organization that aims to enhance the visibility of academic innovation and benefit society via the application of its membership’s inventions.

The NAI previously recognized the innovations of UNL researchers by naming them fellows of the academy. Those researchers are John Woollam, George Holmes Distinguished Professor of electrical engineering; Donald Weeks, Maxcy Professor emeritus of agriculture and natural resources; Brian Larkins, associate vice chancellor for life sciences and professor of agronomy and horticulture; Prem Paul, vice chancellor for research and economic development; and James Van Etten, William Allington Distinguished Professor of plant pathology.

Recent News