Six ROTC members receive military commissions

· 1 min read

Six ROTC members receive military commissions

Six members of the University of Nebraska–Lincoln Reserve Officer Training Corps received military commissions Dec. 18-21.

Two cadets in Army ROTC were commissioned second lieutenants in the U.S. Army during a ceremony Dec. 18; three midshipmen in Navy ROTC were commissioned ensigns in the U.S. Navy during a virtual ceremony Dec. 19; and a cadet in Air Force ROTC was commissioned a second lieutenant in the U.S. Air Force during a ceremony Dec. 21.

Following is a list by hometown of new officers, with rank and service branch.



  • Ensign William Douglas Barelman, Navy.


  • Ensign Ian Scott Kernes, Navy.


  • 2nd Lt. Augustine Gabriel DeAngelo, Army.

  • 2nd Lt. Laura Renae Nelms, Army.


  • 2nd Lt. Maximilian Karl deMayo, Air Force.

  • Ensign Zachary Richard Hytrek, Navy.

Recent News