Plowman, Boehm lead business and finance vice chancellor search group

· 3 min read

Plowman, Boehm lead business and finance vice chancellor search group

Executive Vice Chancellor Donde Plowman (left) and IANR Vice Chancellor Mike Boehm will co-chair the 21-member search committee for Nebraska's new vice chancellor for business and finance.

A 21-member committee has been formed to guide the University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s search for a new vice chancellor for business and finance.

The committee, led by Executive Vice Chancellor Donde Plowman and Mike Boehm, vice president and vice chancellor for the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources at Nebraska, will coordinate with the firm Witt/Kieffer to conduct the national search.

Reporting directly to the chancellor, the vice chancellor for business and finance is responsible for oversight and administration of all budget, financial and accounting services in conformity with Board of Regents policy and state and federal laws.

The vice chancellor also is responsible for all activities related to physical facilities and grounds, including capital construction and maintenance on university sites in Lincoln and throughout the state. All business services, security and transportation services are under the vice chancellor’s purview; human resources and internal auditors also report to the vice chancellor.

Christine Jackson, Nebraska’s vice chancellor for business and finance since 2000, announced in June that she intends to retire at the end of 2017. The timeline to install her successor calls for finalists to engage in campus interviews in November with the new vice chancellor to begin work Jan. 1, 2018.

In addition to Plowman and Boehm, search committee members include:

  • Jeff Bassford, assistant vice chancellor, IANR Finance and Personnel

  • Rik Barrera, associate dean of student services and chief operating officer, College of Business

  • Laurie Bellows, interim vice chancellor, Student Affairs

  • Phil Berlie, director, Budgeting and Business Operations

  • Bruce Currin, assistant vice chancellor, Human Resources

  • Miki Esposito, public works and utilities director, City of Lincoln

  • Steve Goddard, vice chancellor, Research and Economic Development

  • Don Ham, alumnus, external stakeholder

  • John Jentz, executive associate athletic director and chief financial officer, Nebraska Athletics

  • Mary Klucas, University of Nebraska Office Professionals Association representative

  • Brad Korell, NUTech Ventures board member

  • Amy Lanham, president, University Association for Administrative Development

  • Bill Nunez, associate to the chancellor

  • Stacia Palser, associate general counsel, University of Nebraska system

  • Lance Perez, interim dean, College of Engineering

  • Wes Peterson, Faculty Senate Executive Committee representative

  • Troy Wilhelm, chief financial officer, University of Nebraska Foundation

  • Owen Yardley, assistant vice chancellor and chief of the University Police Department

  • Joe Zach, president, Association of Students of the University of Nebraska

The committee members were announced July 11.

Recent News