NU system names inaugural class of leadership development fellows

· 3 min read

NU system names inaugural class of leadership development fellows

On June 23 the University of Nebraska Board of Regents approved a tuition rate freeze.

Sixteen University of Nebraska colleagues have been selected to participate in a new systemwide program that aims to develop the next generation of higher education leaders.

NU’s “Developing Excellence in Academic Leaders” program, sponsored by the Office of the President together with the system provost and campus chief academic officers, launches this fall with an intensive two-year curriculum that will help participants develop their leadership skills, expand their networks, and explore key issues and challenges facing the University of Nebraska and higher education.

The 2022-24 NU DEAL fellows are:

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

  • Kelli Kopocis, assistant professor of practice in the Durham School of Architectural Engineering and Construction and president-elect of the Faculty Senate.
  • Deborah Minter, faculty senate president and associate professor and director of composition of rhetoric in the Department of English.
  • June Griffin, associate dean for undergraduate education in the College of Arts and Sciences and professor of practice in the Department of English.
  • Martha Mamo, department head and John E. Weaver Professor of Agronomy and Horticulture.

University of Nebraska at Kearney

  • Chandra Diaz, associate dean of the College of Education and assistant professor and advisor of middle-level education.
  • Toni Hill, associate professor and director of the Early Childhood and Family Advocacy Program.
  • Nita Unruh, department chair and professor of sports management.
  • Miechelle McKelvey, department chair and professor of communications disorders.

University of Nebraska Medical Center

  • Howard Liu, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Psychiatry.
  • Amy Nordness, director of clinical services and associate director of the Munroe-Meyer Institute.
  • Don Klepser, professor and associate dean for academic affairs in the College of Pharmacy.
  • Kendra Schmid, assistant vice chancellor of academic affairs, assistant dean of graduate studies, and professor in the Department of Biostatistics.

University of Nebraska at Omaha

  • Gaylene Armstrong, director of the School of Criminology and Criminal Justice.
  • LaReesa Wolfenbarger, associate dean of the College of Arts & Sciences.
  • Jason Coleman, director of the School of Health & Kinesiology.
  • Sara Myers, assistant vice chancellor for research and creative activity.

Over the course of the program, the fellows will hear presentations from Ted Carter, president of the NU system, system vice presidents, and members of the Board of Regents, visit each NU campus to engage with senior leaders, and discuss complex and timely higher education topics including:

  • Strategic planning.

  • Philanthropy.

  • Higher education finances.

  • Facilities and infrastructure.

  • Opportunities and challenges related to teaching, learning and research.

  • Academic leadership skills, attributes and styles.

  • Building and maintaining diverse and inclusive university communities.

“This is a time of immense change and opportunity for our industry, requiring skilled, strategic leadership from people who not only deeply understand the issues, but can set a bold vision for the future and inspire others to come along,” Carter said.

“Our goal with this new program is to develop a deep bench of exactly these kinds of leaders. I am thrilled with this initial cohort of fellows — talented leaders who are already having a tremendous impact on our students and state, with great potential to do even more to create positive change for our university and all of higher education.”

Applications for the 2023-25 cohort of NU DEAL fellows will open next spring. More information about the program is available here.

Recent News