Nominations sought for 2022 Fulfilling the Dream award

· 2 min read

Nominations sought for 2022 Fulfilling the Dream award

MLK statue

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln seeks nominations for the 2022 Chancellor’s “Fulfilling the Dream” Award.

Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. spent his life working to eliminate poverty, racism and militarism through non-violent means. The university remains committed to diversity and the ideals espoused by Dr. King. This award was established in 1997 to honor individuals who have contributed to the university community or the wider Lincoln community by their exemplary action in promoting the goals and vision of Dr. King.

The awards are presented each January during ceremonies at the university’s celebration of the Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday. Nominations are strongly encouraged and may be submitted by all members of the university and the community at large.

Nominations should be submitted by Dec. 10, to the MLK Week Planning Committee. The awards subcommittee will review the nominations and make recommendations for the final selections to the MLK Day Planning Committee and Chancellor Ronnie Green.

The university campus has been fortunate to have such distinguished recipients of the award. Those who have earned the award, listed by year, are:

  • 1998 — Keith Parker (UNL)
  • 1999 — Leola Bullock (community), Miguel Carranza (UNL)
  • 2000 — Lela Shanks (community), Melvin Jones (UNL)
  • 2001 — Paulette Jones (community), Michael Combs (UNL)
  • 2002 — Bonnie Coffey (community), Merlin Lawson (UNL)
  • 2003 — Leroy Stokes (community), Robert Hitchcock (UNL)
  • 2004 — Jose Soto (community), Stephanie Adams (UNL)
  • 2005 — Thomas Christie (community), Chuck van Rossum (UNL)
  • 2006 — Larry Williams (community), Amber Hunter (UNL)
  • 2007 — Oscar Harriot (community), Christy Horn (UNL)
  • 2008 — Gwendolyn Combs (UNL)
  • 2009 — Pete Ferguson (community), Students United for Nebraska (UNL)
  • 2010 — Nebraska Appleseed (community), Helen Moore (UNL)
  • 2011 — T.J. McDowell (community), Charlene Maxey-Harris (UNL)
  • 2012 — Zainab Al-baaj and the MENA Hope Project (community), African American and African Studies Program (UNL)
  • 2013 — Pat Tetreault (UNL)
  • 2014 — Jake Kirkland Jr. (UNL)
  • 2015 — the Empowerment Network (community), Linda and Gene Crump (UNL)
  • 2016 — Debra Hope (UNL)
  • 2017 — Karen Kassebaum (UNL)
  • 2018 — Eric Buchanan (community), John Kalu Osiri (UNL)
  • 2019 — Maura Kelly (community), Charlesette Foster (UNL)
  • 2020 — Anna Shavers (UNL)
  • 2021 — Helen Fagan (UNL)

Recent News