Members selected for new sustainability commission

· 3 min read

Members selected for new sustainability commission

University Communications file photo

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln has selected 66 students, faculty and staff to serve on teams that will guide the newly formed Chancellor’s Environment, Sustainability and Resilience Commission.

The commission was formed in answer to a directive from Chancellor Ronnie Green’s Jan. 15 State of the University Address. The commission, which includes seven action teams, is charged with providing strategic recommendations about campus sustainability to university leadership.

Ultimately, the commission will develop and maintain an environment, sustainability and resilience master plan for the university. The group will outline campus goals, outcomes, timelines, responsibilities and metrics, while working to implement the approved master plans.

The commission is led by nine members, including Prabhakar “Prabs” Shrestha, sustainability coordinator for the university; Dave Gosselin, director of environmental studies; and the leaders of each of the seven action teams.

Those teams and individuals recently appointed to serve as part of the commission, are:

Teaching and Learning — Adam Thompson, Amy Schmidt, Anthony Schutz, Ben Wingerter, Christine Haney Douglass, Dana Fritz, Jennifer Ruyle, Hannah Opfer, Julia Torquati, Katharine Hogan, Katherine Nashleanas and Tom Lynch.

Health and Wellness — Alison Stewart, Boyd Epley, Carly Morse, Dale Kruse, Kat Woerner, Keith Zaborowski, Luke Andersen, Sherri Tompkins and Sydney Brown.

Research and Innovation — Clay Lewis, Connor McFadden, Emma Clausen, Daniel Piatkowski, Sam Wortman, Kristi Barmore, Stacy Asher, Tom Larson and Ursula Kreitmair.

Land Resources and Ecosystems — Brenda Osthus, Charles Francis, Connor Barnes, Craig Allen, Eric North, Kendall Weyers, Simanti Banerjee, Tyler Quick and Kim Todd.

Campus Operations — Amanda Christi, Drew Haven, Erica DeFrain, Joel Webb, Jon Garbisch, Linda Pickett, Seth Krone-Keith and Sharon Kuska.

Campus Facilities — Amanda Colborn, Emily Casper, Gary Kimmianau, Hannah Cass, John Hay, Kyle Cacciatore, Sneha Bhoir, Steve Bowen and Tim Wentz.

Community Engagement — Alyssa Amen, Adam Wagler, Elizabeth Park, Joseph Holmes, Katrina Jagodinsky, Mike Shambaugh-Miller, Liana Calegare, Sarah Rakes, Morgan Battes and Troy Thompson.

The commission and action teams will meet as needed. The action teams will select leaders during a retreat Aug. 14-15 at Nebraska Innovation Campus.

An immediate goal of the commission is to increase collaboration with the city of Lincoln. Areas of interest include projects linked to food, water and energy security.

“These include projects that expand the use of renewable energy sources; examine the bulk purchase of electric vehicles; reduce storm water runoff, including the use of green roofs; research new uses for recycled material; and providing support for urban agriculture,” Gosselin said.

Complete details about the commission, application and nomination forms, and selection deadlines are available online.

For more information, contact Shrestha at or 402-472-1126.

Go Green for Big Red Volunteers collect recycling bags during a Husker football game. The recycling initiative, which focuses on reducing trash created via football game tailgates, is among successes for the university's sustainability programs.

Recent News