First-ever Staff Leadership Academy launches

· 3 min read

First-ever Staff Leadership Academy launches

Staff Leadership Academy

The Executive Vice Chancellor’s Office has selected the first class of its Staff Leadership Academy, a new six-month professional development program which seeks to provide career training and resources to staff.

The 31 participants, who were nominated by leaders across campus, will receive guidance on topics including leadership, communication, conflict resolution, and creating inclusive workplaces. Those selected will also have the opportunity to explore their CliftonStrengths and work with a coach to learn how to use them to enhance their leadership skills.

Participants in Staff Leadership Academy include:

  • Holly Adam, assistant athletic director for ticketing and engagement, Nebraska Athletics
  • Phil Berlie, director of budgeting and business operations, Budget
  • Liana Calegare, senior global programs manager, IANR Global Engagement
  • Jason Casey, director, Institutional Effectiveness and Analytics
  • Tareq Daher, director of the Center for Engineering Education Excellence, College of Engineering
  • Wendy Duerfeldt-Schutte, chief operations officer, Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts
  • Tasha Everman, assistant dean and director of career development, College of Law
  • Christina Fielder, director of advising, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Charlie Foster, assistant vice chancellor for student affairs, Office of Academic Success and Intercultural Services
  • Sara Frizzell, director research compliance services, Office of Research and Economic Development
  • Jordan Gonzales, director of alumni engagement, Alumni Association
  • AnnMarie Gottner, director of advising, College of Education and Human Sciences
  • Haley Hamel, manager business operations, College of Journalism and Mass Communications
  • Alisha Hanshaw, director of graduate enrollment, Graduate Studies
  • Steve Jara, deputy director, Nebraska Forest Service
  • Jake Johnson, assistant vice chancellor, Student Affairs
  • Kelli King, director of William H. Thompson Scholars Learning Community, Undergraduate Education Programs
  • Stephanie Kuenning, student success coordinator, College of Architecture
  • Ryan Lahne, interim director, Nebraska Unions
  • Rachel Larson, director of business career center, College of Business
  • Jason Rathe, assistant athletic director for marketing and fan experience, Nebraska Athletics
  • Kay Richter, chief operating officer, Libraries
  • Tyrell Ross, assistant financial manager, College of Business
  • Dori Schmidt, chief business officer and assistant dean, College of Education and Human Sciences
  • Derek Simonsen, manager business operations, Executive Vice Chancellor’s Office
  • Maegan Stevens-Liska, director international engagement initiatives, Office of Global Strategies
  • Andrew Swenson, director of enrollment marketing, Academic Services and Enrollment Management
  • Tyler Thomas, senior director of integrated content, University Communication
  • Tracy Warren, assistant dean and director of admissions, College of Law
  • Bill Watts, director of university advising and career services, Career Services
  • Becky Zavala, assistant vice chancellor, Office of Research and Economic Development

Learn more about the academy.

Recent News