Fellowships, awards announced during graduate luncheon

· 3 min read

Fellowships, awards announced during graduate luncheon

A number of University of Nebraska–Lincoln faculty and graduate students were honored during the annual Graduate Fellowship and Awards Luncheon. The event celebrates remarkable achievements in research, teaching, mentorship and creative activity.

Those receiving honors, include:

Dean's Award for Excellence in Graduate Education:

Honors faculty members whose dedication to graduate students and commitment to excellence in graduate mentoring have made a significant contribution to graduate education at Nebraska.

• Patrick Dussault, Charles Bessey Professor, chemistry
• Daizaburo Shizuka, associate professor, School of Biological Sciences
• Rajib Saha, Richard L. and Carol S. McNeel Associate Professor and graduate chair, chemical and biomolecular engineering

Folsom Distinguished Master’s Thesis Award:

Recognizes the outstanding research and creative accomplishments of the university's master's students.

• Victor Mpore, master's in leadership education
• Isabel Bohrer Milbourn, master's in music theory

Folsom Distinguished Doctoral Dissertation Award:

Recognizes the outstanding research and creative accomplishments of the university's doctoral students.

• Jordan Rosenbohm, Ph.D. in mechanical and materials engineering
• Ava Winter, Ph.D. in English

Outstanding Graduate Research & Creative Activities Award:

Recognizes excellence in graduate student research and creativity at Nebraska.

• Austin Spoor, special education and communication disorders
• Jesse Kuebler, materials engineering
• Sarah Rasby, child, youth, and family studies
• Shelby Davies Jenkins, animal science
• Yifei Hao, physics and astronomy

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award:

Recognizes graduate teaching assistants who have demonstrated special effectiveness in teaching undergraduates at Nebraska.

• Dakota White, mathematics
• Elizabeth "Ellie" Johnson, music education
• Jeff Cavanaugh, management
• Kanak Kanti Kar, civil engineering
• Yifan Wu, statistics

Graduate Student Excellence in Mentoring Award:

Recognizes graduate students who have demonstrated excellence in mentoring undergraduate and other graduate students in research and creative activities.

• Erika Luckert, English
• Phoebe Shi, food science and technology
• Eunhong Lee, philosophy
• Ivon Acosta Ramirez, biological systems engineering

Presidential Fellow:

Awarded to advanced doctoral or MFA students.

• Lara Armenteros Garrido, modern languages and literatures

Dean's Fellow:

Awarded to advanced masters or doctoral students.

• Caitlin Ross, animal science
• Jennifer Bockerman, teaching, learning and teacher education
• Ishani Lal, agronomy and horticulture
• Ilhami Okur, food science and technology
• Kimia Akhavein, psychology
• Jacob Vargas, educational psychology
• Samuel Underwood, Durham School of Architectural Engineering and Construction
• Mahima Rasquinha, School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
• William Kelly, history
• Muhammad Ahmad, civil and environmental engineering

Fling Fellow:

Awarded to advanced masters or doctoral students.

• Alison Ermisch, animal science
• Allison Cpriano, psychology and women's and gender studies
• Alexander Claussen, modern languages and literatures

Outstanding Postdoc Mentor Award:

Honoring a UNL faculty member or PI who has demonstrated a sustained commitment and exceptional ability in mentoring postdoctoral scholars' professional and career development.

• James C. Schnable, agronomy and horticulture

Outstanding Postdoc Award:

Honoring the achievements of exceptional postdoctoral scholars for their comprehensive efforts in research, teaching, mentoring, innovation, and University or community service.

• Joseph Gardella, community psychology

Recent News