Faculty and staff recognized by the executive vice chancellor’s office

· 3 min read

Faculty and staff recognized by the executive vice chancellor’s office

Photo courtesy of University Communications

Awards coordinated by Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor have been announced for 2019. These honor faculty and staff who advance the missions of the university in teaching, research and service. Recipients will be recognized at The Laurels award reception in September.

College Distinguished Teaching Awards recognize faculty with excellence in teaching. Fifteen awards are available each year and the distribution rotates among the colleges.

  • Madhavan Soundararajan, professor of practice, biochemistry
  • Brandon Bosch, assistant professor of practice, sociology and political science
  • Kelsy Burke, assistant professor, sociology
  • Lory Dance, associate professor, sociology
  • David Harwood, professor, earth and atmospheric sciences
  • Eric Malina, associate professor of practice, chemistry
  • Rachael Shah, assistant professor, English
  • Blake Runnalls, assistant professor, marketing
  • Sangjin Ryu, associate professor, mechanical and materials engineering
  • Angie Pannier, professor, biological systems engineering
  • Matthew Fritz, assistant professor, educational psychology
  • Sue Kemp, associate professor of practice, special education and communication disorders
  • Shavonna Holman, assistant professor of practice, educational administration
  • Colleen Syron, assistant professor, art, art history and design
  • John Lenich, professor, law

The Harold and Esther Edgerton Junior Faculty Award honors outstanding junior faculty members who demonstrate creative research, extraordinary teaching abilities, and academic promise.

  • Shudipto Dishari, assistant professor, chemical and biomolecular engineering
  • Hope Wabuke, assistant professor, English

The Annis Chaikin Sorensen Award recognizes a full-time faculty member for outstanding teaching in the humanities, which include art, classics, communication studies, English, history, modern languages and literatures, journalism, libraries, music, philosophy, theatre arts, Reserve Officer Training Corps, museum, athletics, and all units in the College of Architecture.

  • Jeannette Jones, associate professor, history and ethnic studies

The James O’Hanlon Academic Leader Award honors a full-time faculty or staff member who demonstrates exceptional abilities to lead, serve, inspire, and collaborate on the academic goals of the university. The award is named for Dr. James O’Hanlon, who served the university in academic leadership positions for over 30 years.

  • Nancy Busch, dean, University Libraries

The Nancy Kenny Academic Business Leader Award recognizes a full-time faculty or staff member who has demonstrated exceptional collaborative leadership in academic business matters at the university. The award is named for Nancy Kenny, who served the university in business leadership positions across the campus.

  • Rik Barrera, associate dean of student services and chief operating officer, College of Business dean's office

The Dr. Charles Riedesel Outstanding Academic Advising Award honors an exceptional faculty or staff member for advising services beyond basic job duties and responsibilities to provide support, empowerment, coaching, counseling, and guidance to help undergraduate students succeed academically and in life. The award is named for Dr. Charles Riedesel, chief undergraduate adviser in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, who devotes much of his time to recruiting and advising computer science and engineering majors.

  • Doug Pellatz, academic adviser, mathematics

The Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor Award recognizes a full-time faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in mentoring and supporting undergraduate researchers educational and career paths through their availability, attentiveness, encouragement, and understanding.

  • Karsten Koehler, assistant professor, nutrition and health sciences

Recent News