Committee named to guide law dean search

· 2 min read

Committee named to guide law dean search


The University of Nebraska-Lincoln has officially launched its search for its next College of Law dean.

This week, a 15-member committee made up of faculty, staff, administrators and college stakeholders was formed to guide the search, which will be limited to internal candidates.

Anna Shavers

The group is co-chaired by Charles O’Connor, dean of the Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts; and Anna Shavers, professor of law at Nebraska.

Committee members include Kristen Blankley, associate professor of law; Eric Berger, associate dean for faculty and professor of law; Robert Denicola, professor of law; Richard Leiter, director of the Schmid Law Library and professor of law; Brian Lepard, professor of law; Marc Pearce, assistant dean for student affairs and administration; Kevin Ruser, professor of law; Jessica Shoemaker, assistant professor of law; Adam Thimmesch, assistant professor of law; Jennifer Bear Eagle, alumna and in-house counsel for the Oglala Sioux Tribe; William J. Mueller, alumnus, senior partner and co-founder of Mueller Robak LLC; Lindsey Schmidt, law student; and Kris Lauber, library assistant.

Charles O'Connor

The dean reports directly to the executive vice chancellor and is the chief academic and administrative officer of the College of Law. Richard Moberly was appointed the college’s interim dean in December 2015 following the departure of Susan Poser to the position of provost at the University of Illinois-Chicago.

The committee will begin reviewing applicants on March 13. For more information about the law dean search, click here.

Recent News