Awards place a spotlight on student organization achievements

· 3 min read

Awards place a spotlight on student organization achievements

UNL Gateway

This week, Student Involvement announced the 2020 Student Impact Awards to honor students, advisors, and programs who made significant contributions to their student organization and the University of Nebraska-Lincoln campus during the previous year. Due to the COVID-19 closure, the awards were announced virtually via social media in a series of posts Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.

Sixty-nine nominations were received for the twelve award categories. Awards winners are listed in bold at the top of each list of nominees.

Diversity and Inclusion Award

Spectrum UNL

• Indian Students Association at University of Nebraska-Lincoln

• Engineers Without Borders

• Public Relations Student Society of America

Outstanding New Student Organization

Communication Studies Undergraduate Student Advisory Board

Outstanding Commitment to Recruitment

Engineers Without Borders

• Give Sight Global

Student Organization Philanthropy/Service Award

Dance Marathon

• Engineers without Borders

Outstanding Student Organization Member

Rainier Sarreal (Engineers Without Borders)

• Alyson Jesionowski (Dance Marathon)

• Fernada Souza Krupek (Agronomy and Horticulture Graduate Student Association)

• Rahul Prajapati (Indian Student Association)

• Clare Wilton (University of Nebraska Soil Judging Team)

• Jamie Brunken (Public Relations Student Society of America)

• Saima Hasnin (Bangladesh Student Association)

• Alex Hearty (Student Alumni Association)

Outstanding New Advisor

Jemalyn Griffin (Public Relations Student Society of America)

• Marianna Burks (Minority Pre-Health Association)

• Christine E. Wittich (Earthquake Engineering Research Institute)

• Laura Springer (Student Alumni Association)

Outstanding Advisor

Libby Jones (Engineers Without Borders - Nebraska University)

• Sylvana Airan (Agriculture Leadership Shields)

• Kathy Castle (Communication Studies Undergraduate Advisory Board)

• Karen Stelling (Aerospace Club)

• Becky Young (UNL Soil Judging Team)

Outstanding Student Organization Officer

Ryan Wolff (Student Alumni Association)

• Innocent Byiringiro (Agriculture Leadership Shields)

• Sofia Gavia (Sustain UNL)

• Shivani Tamkiya (Indian Students Association)

• Joshua Carlson (Aerospace Club)

• Cadence Hernandez (University of Nebraska Lincoln Soil Judging Team)

• Joel Mohrmann (Tau Beta Pi)

• Brenna Zollman (Public Relations Student Society of America)

• Jose De Sanctis (Agronomy and Horticulture Graduate Student Association)

Outstanding Student Organization President

Brittni McGuire (SustainUNL)

• Jason Chan (Nebraska University Malaysian Student Organization)

• John Strope (Theme Park Design Group)

• Mamun Sarker (Bangladesh Student Association)

• Murtaza Nuruddin Nalwala (India Students Association)

• Mary Schultz (Communication Studies Undergraduate Student Advisory Board)

• Nicholas Harp (National Organization of Gay and Lesbian Scientists and Technical Professionals at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln)

• Alexandre Tonon Rosa (Agronomy and Horticulture Graduate Student Association)

• Preston Noll (UNL Climbing Club)

• Jake Piccini (Spectrum UNL)

• Brianna Frisbie (Public Relations Student Society of America)

• Philamon Leon Hemstreet (Engineers Without Borders)

• Hwanhee Choi (Korean Student Association)

• Claire Berman (Student Alumni Association)

Program of the Year

Rwanda Night (Agriculture Leadership Shields & Rwandan Student Association)

• Design Challenge (Engineers Without Borders)

• The Green Bandana Project (Association of Students of the University of Nebraska)

• Diwali Night 2019 (India Students Association)

• International Mother Language Day (Bangladesh Student Association)

• #SpreadHopeNotFear (Public Relations Student Society of America)

• Program Workshop series: Are you ready to find a job? (Agronomy and Horticulture Graduate Student Association and Entomology Bruner Club)

• Young Alumni Academy/ Student Alumni Association CliftonStrengths Institute Dinner (Student Alumni Association)

Outstanding Student Organization

  • Spectrum UNL

  • Theme Park Design Group

  • India Students Association

  • Agronomy and Horticulture Graduate Student Association

  • Engineers Without Borders

Student Leadership Award

  • Carter Bracht

  • Emily Madsen

  • Sajjan Grover

  • Osler Antonio Ortez Amador

  • Jenna Knudtson

  • Sophie Menting

  • Alonzo Knight

Recent News