Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for July 21

· 4 min read

Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for July 21

Aerial of City Campus looking north from downtown Lincoln.

Huskers who earned recent honors include Krista Benesch, Kelsy Burke, Alexander Engelkamp, Mark Hinchman, Sheree Moser, Nathan Putens, Ramona Schoenrock, Samantha Teten, Jorge Venegas and Lily Wang.


  • Kelsy Burke, assistant professor of sociology, has received the American Sociology Association’s 2017 Distinguished Book Award in the category of “Sociology of Religion.” Burke’s award-winning book, “Christians Under Covers,” describes her findings from an ethnographic study of 36 websites where tens of thousands of Christians have sought sexual guidance during the past decade. Learn more about Burke’s book and research.

  • Mark Hinchman, professor of interior design, published a chapter in the book, “Cities and the Circulate of Culture in the Atlantic World: From the early Modern to Modernism.” In the chapter, Hinchman examines Swiss/French architect Charles-Albert Wulffleff’s use of Art Deco architecture to design the Parc-Musée, a museum in Dakar, Senegal. Learn more about the chapter.

  • Sheree Moser and Ramona Schoenrock, faculty in the College of Education and Human Sciences, have been recognized by the Association for Career and Technical Education for excellence in preparing future teachers. Moser, assistant professor of practice in child, youth and family studies, is the association’s Region V Postsecondary Teacher of the Year. Moser, has served as president-elect, president and past president of the Nebraska Association of Family and Consumer Sciences and the Family and Consumer Sciences Teachers of Nebraska. She was named the association’s Nebraska Postsecondary Teacher of the Year in 2016. Schoenrock, lecturer in teaching, learning and teacher education, is the association’s Nebraska Teacher Educator of the Year. Schoenrock earned the award because she made significant changes to the program, strengthening the connection between career and technical education programs of study and the core content along with college and career readiness. Learn more about these honors.

  • Nathan Putens, a designer with the University of Nebraska Press, has earned an honor for the cover design of “Redskins: Insult and Brand.” The cover, which features original art by Gregg Deal, was among designs selected by AIGA and Design Observer’s annual 50 Books | 50 Covers competition. Learn more about this book.

  • Lily Wang, professor of architectural engineering and construction, has been named president-elect of the Acoustical Society of America for the 2017-18 term. The society, formed in 1929, comprises about 7,000 members from the United States and elsewhere. Those members conduct studies of noise, its measurement, its effects, and ways of reducing it to improve the human environment.


  • Krista Benesch, a sophomore music education major, won honorable mention in the 2017 Orfeo Music Festival international competition in Vipiteno/Sterzing, Italy. The festival is an international summer classical music and arts event widely known for its artistic excellence in voice, piano, violin, viola, cello, contrabass, flute, oboe, clarinet and bassoon. Benesch performed Mozart’s ‘Non so piu” from Le nozze di Figaro, as well as Chausson’s “Les temps de lilas’ in the final round of the competition. Learn more about this honor.

  • Alexander Engelkamp, a third-year law student, won the 2017 Sidney M. Perlstadt Memorial Award in the American College of Employee Benefits Counsel’s 13th annual Employee Benefits Writing Competition. Engelkamp’s winning submission is titled “Approaching Paid Sick Leave: Compliance or Preemption.” The award will be presented at the organization’s annual induction dinner on Oct. 14 in San Francisco. Learn more about the award.

  • Samantha Teten, a junior agronomy major, has been awarded a $2,000 scholarship from the Independent Professional Seed Association. The association created the scholarship program to support and encourage the education of future ag professionals. Teten was one of five agriculture-related degree students selected nationally out of 180 applicants. Learn more about this honor.

  • Jorge Venegas, a graduate student in agronomy and horticulture, received the national Roger Krueger Memorial Scholarship from the American Seed Research Foundation. Venegas’ research focus is in plant breeding and genetics. The award was presented during the American Seed Trade Association conference on June 22 in Minneapolis. The scholarship is offered in memorial to Roger Krueger, a long-time board member of the foundation and a Monsanto executive. Learn more about the scholarship.

This column is a regular Friday feature of Nebraska Today. Faculty, staff and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column via email to For more information, call 402-472-8515.

Kelsy Burke
Mark Hinchman
Sheree Moser
Ramona Schoenrock
Lily Wang
Award-winning cover of "Redskins: Insult and Brand," designed by Nathan Putens of the University of Nebraska Press.
Krista Benesch
Alexander Engelkamp
Samantha Teten
Jorge Venegas (center) received the Roger Krueger Memorial Scholarship from Glenn Austin of the Monsanto Company (left) and Jim Tobin of the American Seed Research Foundation, at the American Seed Trade Association conference June 22.

Recent News