Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for Feb. 15

· 3 min read

Achievements | Honors, awards, publications for Feb. 15

Nebraska was among only 11 institutions from the Cornhusker State and neighboring states listed in the 2019 edition of The Princeton Review's “Best Value Colleges.”

Recent achievements for the campus community were earned by Iker González-Allende, Joe Starita, Jeffrey Day, Francisco Souto, Aaron Holz, Isaiah Somanas, Kenneth Ferriera, Magdalena Vazquez, Joseph Croghan, Scott Kenny, Megan Michalski, Brooke Sayler and Hasan Shurrab.


  • Iker González-Allende, Professor of Spanish, recently published in Spanish a co-edited volume on the works of Bernardo Atxaga, the most significant and famous writer in the history of Basque literature. The volume, “El mundo está en todas partes: La creación literaria de Bernardo Atxaga (The World is Everywhere: The Literary Creation of Bernardo Atxaga)” draws from González-Allende’s extensive interview with Atxaga as well as 14 contributions from renowned scholars on Basque studies.

  • Francisco Souto, director of the School of Art, Art History and Design, and Aaron Holz, professor of art, have each been awarded Nebraska Arts Council Individual Artist Fellowships (IAF). The program recognizes exemplary work by Nebraska artists. Both Souto and Holz will receive $4,000 as part of the fellowships.

  • Joe Starita, professor of journalism, was honored by the 1 Book 4 North Platte committee for his book “Warrior of the People.” Selected out of over 150 books, “Warrior of the People” tells the story of Susan La Flesche, the first Native American woman to become a doctor in the United States.


  • Isaiah Somanas and Kenneth Ferriera, undergraduate students in the College of Journalism and Mass Communications, have been named top five finalists in the Hearst Multimedia I/Narrative Storytelling – Features Competition of the 2018-2019 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. Ferriera, who earned fifth place, and Somanas, who earned fourth place, will each receive $1,000 for their projects on the impact of Hurricane Maria on Puerto Rico. The projects were created as a part of the college’s Global Eyewitness: Puerto Rico program led by associate professor of journalism Bruce Thorson.

  • Magdalena Vazquez, Joseph Croghan, Scott Kenny, Megan Michalski, Brooke Sayler and Hasan Shurrab, graduate students in the College of Architecture, were honored with a citation in the 66th Annual Progressive Architecture Awards from Architecture Magazine. Led by professor of architecture Jeffrey Day, the team’s project “The Grocery” was one of 10 submissions selected from 200 nationwide. In the submission, Day and his students created a design plan that transformed a defunct main street grocery store into an art gallery, exhibition space and community culture center.

This column is a regular feature of Nebraska Today. Faculty, staff and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column via email to For more information, call 402-472-8515.

Recent News