Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for Oct. 8

· 4 min read

Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for Oct. 8

Students framed in circles created by the campus sculpture "Balanced/Unbalanced Wheels No. 2."
Craig Chandler | University Communication

Recent achievements among the university community were earned by Catherine Eichhorn, Yingchao Lan, Dennis Hensen, Courtney Hillebrecht, Katharine Hogan, Fernanda Krupek, Jiating Li, Bailey McNichol, Bryan Wang and the Center on Children, Families and the Law.


  • Catherine Eichhorn, assistant professor of chemistry, earned a Maximizing Investigators’ Research Award from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, part of the National Institutes of Health. Eichhorn specializes in the study of RNA and recently earned a National Science Foundation CAREER Award.

  • Katharine Hogan, Fernanda Krupek, Jiating Li and Bailey McNichol earned 2021 Heuermann Plant Science Fellowships. The award, established in 2020, recognizes doctoral program students for excellence in place science research and for potential for accomplishments in the field. Hogan, advised by Craig Allen, is studying natural resources science (applied ecology specialization). Krupek, advised by Andrea Basche, is studying cropping systems and soil health management. Li, advised by Yeyin Shi, is studying agricultural and biological systems engineering. McNichol, advised by Sabrina Russo, is studying plant ecology.

  • Yingchao Lan, assistant professor of supply chain management and analytics in the College of Business, published a study, “Ancillary Cost Implication of Multisiting Physicians and Inter-Organizational Collaboration in Health Care Delivery,” that earned her the Chan Hahn Best Paper Award at the 2021 Academy of Management Conference after being recognized as finalist for the honor twice before.

  • Rebecca Roston, associate professor of biochemistry, received the Arthur C. Neish Young Investigator Award from the Phytochemical Society of North America. The award is given annually to outstanding early career scientists nominated by members of the PSNA.

  • Bryan Wang, associate professor of advertising and public relations, received a grant from Middle Tennessee State University to support a student-led campaign to advocate for free speech on campus. Through the project, advanced advertising and public relations students will conduct primary and secondary research to determine how to effectively communicate about free speech rights to college students. Students will then design and implement an integrated media campaign to increase awareness of free speech rights on campus. Learn more about the project.

News Conference: Youth Homeless Grant
Video: Youth homeless grant news conference

  • The Center on Children, Families, and the Law is part of a $2.2 million grant-funded project to address youth homelessness in Lincoln. The center will be responsible for facilitating the project’s continuum of care planning process. The project is funded by a Department of Housing and Urban Development grant to the City of Lincoln.


  • Dennis Hensen has been named director of the Biological Process Development Facility in the College of Engineering. He also serves as the project management lead for the facility. The Biological Process Development Facility at the offers biopharmaceutical process development and biomanufacturing services that transition discoveries into early phase clinical trials. Read more here.


  • Courtney Hillebrecht recently published the book, “Saving the International Justice Regime: Beyond Backlash against International Courts,” through Cambridge University Press. The book examines the politics at play in backlash toward international court institutions, including human rights courts and criminal courts. Hillebrecht is the Samuel Clark Waugh Distinguished Professor of International Relations in political science, director of the Forsythe Family Program on Human Rights and Humanitarian Affairs, and faculty coordinator of the William H. Thompson Scholars Program.

This column is a regular feature of Nebraska Today. Faculty, staff and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column via email to For more information, call 402-472-8515.

Recent News