Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for May 15

· 4 min read

Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for May 15

Love Library
Craig Chandler | University Communication

Learn more about recent honors, appointments and publications at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln in this week’s achievements column.


  • Katherine Ankerson, dean of the College of Architecture, is one of six International Interior Design Association members inducted into the IIDA College of Fellows for 2020. Induction into the College of Fellows honors a member’s achievements and contributions to the profession and the association. It is the highest honor IIDA bestows on its members.

  • Lydiah Kiramba, assistant professor in the Department of Teaching, Learning and Teacher Education, is the 2020 recipient of the Carlos J. Vallejo Memorial Award for Emerging Scholarship from the American Educational Research Association. The award recognizes an advanced doctoral student or assistant professor whose scholarly contributions are poised to contribute to scholarship in the field of multicultural or multiethnic education. At Nebraska, Kiramba investigates home, school and society intersections with a focus on multilingual students of immigrant and refugee backgrounds in the United States.

  • Madeline Mohatt, senior journalism major and president of University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s Dance Marathon, is one of 25 graduating seniors from the United States and Canada selected to receive the 2020 Miracle Network Dance Marathon Distinguished Leadership Award. Mohatt was honored for making an exceptional impact within Nebraska’s Dance Marathon program, helping raise $235,292 during HuskerThon last February.

  • Kendra Ordia, assistant professor of interior design, is one of eight interior design professionals and the only instructor from higher education named to the American Society of Interior Designers “2020 Ones to Watch” list. The annual list recognizes rising leaders in the interior design industry who demonstrate exceptional leadership potential and a willingness to push the boundaries of the profession.

  • John Kalu Osiri, director of Nebraska’s international business program and associate professor of practice in management, has been selected for the Reciprocal Exchange program of the Mandela Washington Fellowship for Young African Leaders. The honor comes with an award of $5,000 by the U.S. State Department and will sponsor his international development and educational efforts in Africa’s Ivory Coast.

  • Maren Schuttler, junior dance and elementary education major, and Rebecca Nederhiser, graduate student in the Glenn Korff School of Music, were recognized during the Glenn Korff School of Music virtual Honors Day Convocation on April 30. Schuttler received the Undergraduate Artist/Scholar Award, while Nederhiser received the Graduate Artist/Scholar Award. The awards are intended to recognize and reward excellence in performance or scholarship in the Glenn Korff School of Music.

  • Cameron Stussie, junior music education major with an emphasis in voice, has been named the winner of the Presser Scholarship awarded by The Presser Foundation. The scholarship, which includes a cash prize, is given to an outstanding music major during or after their junior year and recognizes outstanding and meritorious achievement in music.


  • Diane Barger, professor of clarinet, has been named president-elect of the International Clarinet Association. Barger has been a member of the ICA for more than 30 years and has served the organization in a variety of capacities, most recently as Nebraska State Chair from 2010 to 2020. She will begin a two-year president-elect term Sept. 1.

  • Sue Sheridan, director of the Nebraska Center for Research on Children, Youth, Families and Schools, has been named associate dean for research and creative activity for the College of Education and Human Sciences. Sheridan will continue serving as director of CYFS during her new role. Lisa Knoche, research associate professor, is now co-director of the center and will assist in strategic and operational activities.

This column is a regular feature of Nebraska Today. Faculty, staff and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column via email to For more information, call 402-472-8515.

Katherine Ankerson
Lydiah Kiramba
Madeline Mohatt
Kendra Ordia
John Kalu Osiri
Maren Schuttler and Rebecca Nederhiser
Cameron Stussie
Diane Barger
Sue Sheridan

Recent News