Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for March 10

· 3 min read

Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for March 10

Prospective Huskers utilize a warmer February day to tour campus.
Craig Chandler | University Communication and Marketing
New Student Enrollment leaders walk campus during a warmer-than-normal February day.

Recent achievements for the campus community were earned by Katie Edwards, Kathy Farrell, Sarita Garcia, Ramona Herrington, Uchechukwu Jarrett, Claire Jimenez, Jeannette Jones, Srivatsan Kidambi, Rachel Larson and Ryan Sullivan.


  • Katie Edwards, associate professor in educational psychology, and Ramona Herrington, cultural outreach manager for the Nebraska Center for Research on Children, Youth, Families and Schools, delivered keynote presentations during Stanford Medicine’s fourth annual Native Youth School and Community Wellness Conference, which was held virtually March 9-10.

  • Srivatsan Kidambi, associate professor in chemical and biomolecular engineering, has been selected to join 2023 Science Outside the Lab program to explore the relationships among science, innovation, policy, and societal outcomes. Kidambi will attend a workshop at Arizona State University, May 31 to June 2.

  • Ryan Sullivan, associate professor of law, and volunteers from Nebraska Law were recently named American Bar Association Free Legal Answers 2022 Pro Bono Leaders. This annual recognition is presented to individual attorneys, law firms, corporate law departments and other organizations that have provided extraordinary services through the pro bono legal advice portal. Sullivan and other faculty volunteers answered a total of 113 civil legal questions last year.


  • Jeannette Jones, Happold Professor in history and ethnic studies, Sarita Garcia, web developer in the Center for Digital Research in the Humanities, and alumna Claire Jimenez, contributed a chapter to the new book, “Digital Humanities Workshops: Lessons Learned,” published by Routledge. The chapter offers perspectives on the “New Storytellers: The Digital Ethnic Studies Institute,” held at Nebraska in summer 2021.


  • Kathy Farrell, James Jr. and Susan Stuart Endowed Dean of the College of Business and professor of finance, was elected to the Board of Directors of the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, an international group of educators, students and businesses who work to improve business education. Her three-year term begins July 1.

  • Uchechukwu Jarrett, associate professor of practice in economics, was named to the University of Nebraska Federal Credit Union Board of Directors.

  • Rachel Larson, assistant dean of academic and career development, was elected to the National Association of Colleges and Employers Board of Directors. Her two-year term begins July 1 for the professional association that connects more than 14,800 college career services professionals, university relations and recruiting professionals.

Recent News