Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for July 17

· 3 min read

Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for July 17

Photo of campus from drone
Craig Chandler | University Communication

Learn more about recent honors, appointments and publications at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln in this week’s achievements column.


  • An article written by Lorna Dawes, associate professor for University Libraries, has been chosen by the American Library Association’s Library Instruction Round Table as one of 2019’s top 20 most notable articles on library instruction. Dawes’ article, “Through Faculty’s Eyes: Teaching Threshold Concepts and the Framework,” explores which information literacy concepts are most important to faculty.

  • John Gilley, adjunct professor of biological systems engineering, is the recipient of the 2020 Soil and Water Conservation Society Conservation Research Award. The Conservation Research Award recognizes society members whose research has led to exceptional improvements in soil conservation, water conservation, and/or related natural resources research. Winners will be recognized during the society’s virtual international conference July 27-29.

  • Chuck Hibberd, recently retired dean and director of Nebraska Extension, has received the Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council’s highest honor, the Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute’s Award of Merit.

  • Amit Jhala, associate professor of agronomy and horticulture and Nebraska Extension weed management specialist, has received a three-year grant from the Nebraska Environmental Trust for his project “Detecting Atrazine Dissipation and Evaluating Herbicide Programs without Atrazine for Weed Control in Corn and their Environmental Impact Quotient: Research and Extension.”

  • Jordan Redd, doctoral horn student in the Glenn Korff School of Music, won second place in the brass category at the 27th annual World Music Competition. Redd was the national winner in his discipline and the second prize winner at the international level.

  • Jolene D. Smyth, director of the Bureau of Sociological Research at the University of Nebraska- Lincoln and associate professor of sociology, is the 2020 recipient of the John M. Kennedy Achievement Award from the Association of Academic Survey Research Organizations. Smyth received the award for her service and leadership in academic survey research.


  • Heather Mahowald, assistant professor of aerospace science, was selected for promotion on June 12 to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel in the USAF. She joined the USAF in 2003 and also serves as the detachment’s recruiting officer.

  • Zhenghong Tang, professor of community and regional planning and landscape architecture, has been named director of the College of Architecture’s Community and Regional Planning Program. Tang is replacing former director Gordon Scholz, who retired on June 30. Tang brings decades of academic expertise and leadership to the position of program director, having taught within CRP program since 2008.

  • Kalynn Thomas, Air Force recruiting officer, was selected for promotion on June 1 to the rank of Technical Sergeant in the United States Air Force. Thomas has been at the university since October of 2018.

  • The Nebraska Alumni Association has welcomed Marilyn Moore and Daniel Dawes as new members of its executive board of directors. Both will serve three-year terms that began on July 1.


  • Jay Storz, Willa Cather Professor of biological sciences, co-authored a July 16 report in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences that describes the discovery of the world’s highest-dwelling mammal, a yellow-rumped leaf-eared mouse. Storz discovered and captured the specimen atop an Andean volcano earlier this year. Learn more about the expedition here.

This column is a regular feature of Nebraska Today. Faculty, staff and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column via email to For more information, call 402-472-8515.

Recent News