Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for July 14

· 4 min read

Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for July 14

Blue summer skies, trees and sculpture frame the Love Library cupola
Craig Chandler | University Communication and Marketing
Blue summer skies, trees and Green Point sculpture frame the Love Library cupola

Recent achievements for the campus community were earned by Marco Abel, Ken Bloom, David Lambe, Andrew Loseke, Jennifer McKitrick, Colleen Medill, Kevin Pope, Larkin Powell, Mason Rutgers, Anne Streich and Meredith Sutton.


  • David Lambe, professor of practice in agronomy and horticulture and chief learning officer in the Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship Program, was honored with the Holling Family Sustained Excellence in Teaching and Learning Faculty Award for the academic year 2022–2023. Lambe received the award during the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources Awards Luncheon May 12 at the Nebraska East Union.

  • Andrew Loseke, finance specialist for the HAPPI business center, was honored with the Department of Agronomy and Horticulture’s Special Contributions Award by the Staff Advisory Committee June 15. The semiannual award recognizes department staff who go above and beyond in their job duties in a way that greatly benefits the department and/or the university. Loseke has worked at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln for 10 years and for HAPPI Business Center since early 2022. He is responsible for the financial management for revolving, service center and grant accounts, and provides procurement related support for either requesting or receiving payment for items and services. He also assists with grant award submissions and staff payroll.

  • “Harvest of Fish and Wildlife: New Paradigms for Sustainable Management,” a volume co-edited by Kevin Pope, research professor and director of Nebraska Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research, and Larkin Powell, director of and professor in the School of Natural Resources, was shortlisted for the Wildlife Society’s Publication Award in the edited book category.

  • Mason Rutgers, senior plant and landscape systems major, was honored with the Holling Family Award for Undergraduate Teaching and Learning Assistant for the 2022-23 academic year during the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources Awards Luncheon May 12. Rutgers’ first teaching assistant position was fall 2021 for Plant and Landscape Systems 131 Plant Science with David Holding, professor of agronomy and horticulture.

  • Anne Streich, professor of practice in agronomy and horticulture, was honored with the Lawrence K. Crowe Undergraduate Adviser Award at the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources Awards Luncheon. The award recognizes a faculty member who has made outstanding contributions in undergraduate advising. Streich serves as adviser to more than 200 agronomy and horticulture students majoring in agronomy or plant and landscape systems.

  • Meredith Sutton, a doctoral student in environmental engineering, has been chosen to be part of the American Geophysical Union Voices for Science fellow cohort, a one-year program whose participants conduct outreach activities in their local communities with the goal of educating general audiences about science and engineering. Sutton, who received a Nebraska environmental engineering master’s degree in 2022, will be engaged in the policy track, focusing on working with government and industry officials who have influence over programs and policies that affect all areas of science.


  • Ken Bloom, professor and chair of the Department of Physics, was appointed to serve a three-year term on the High Energy Physics Advisory Panel of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science. He will provide expertise in energy frontier research. The panel has advised the federal government on the national program in experimental and theoretical high energy physics research since 1967. Bloom is deputy manager of operations for the U.S. CMS Operations Program and stewards National Science Foundation funding.

  • Colleen E. Medill, Berkshire Family Professor in the College of Law, has been elected as chair of the Section on Employee Benefits Law for the Association of American Law Schools. As chair, she is organizing a scholarly program on “Emerging Issues in Retirement Equity,” which will take place on Jan. 4, at the association’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C.


  • “Christian Petzold: Interviews,” co-edited by Marco Abel, has been published by University Press of Mississippi. Christian Petzold is a German filmmaker associated with the “Berlin School” of postunification German cinema. Featuring 35 interviews, this book is the first to document how one of Germany’s best-known director’s thinking about his work has evolved over the course of a quarter of a century, spanning his days as a student filmmaker to 2020. Abel, Willa Cather professor of English and Film Studies and chair of the Department of English, collaborated with Aylin Bademsoy and Jaimey Fisher of the University of California, Davis. He specializes in film theory and European cinema.

  • Jennifer McKitrick, professor in and chair of the Department of Philosophy, contributed to the recently published Artificial Dispositions: Investigating Ethical and Metaphysical Issues from Bloomsbury Publishing. The book investigates what artificial dispositions (in automation, computation, and artificial intelligence applications) are, the roles they play in artificial systems, and their impact on our understanding of reality, our minds and ethics. Her chapter, “The Metaphysics of Artificial Dispositions,” is part of the section “Artificial and Natural Dispositions.”

Recent News