Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for Jan. 28

· 5 min read

Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for Jan. 28

Herbie Husker walks the Tunnel Walk route in Memorial Stadium after morning practice.
Justin Mohling | University Communication
Herbie Husker celebrates on the red carpet in Memorial Stadium.

Recent achievements among the university community were earned by Anthony Amori, Wayne Babchuk, Dawn O. Braithwaite, Kate Carlin, Rochelle L. Dalla, Katie M. Edwards, Hafith Furqoni, Deepak Ghimire, Andrew Hamann, Mark Hinchman, Balpreet Kaur Dhatt, Rituraj Khound, Andrea Koeber, Fernanda Krupek, Dustin Loy, Elijah Luebbe, Kacey Nelkin Pedersen, Gonzalo Rizzo, Arshdeep Singh, Jaspinder Sing, Claire Stewart, Pat Tetreault, Vinodchandran Variyam, Jerry Volesky, Caleb Wehrbein, and the Center on Children, Families and the Law.


  • Kate Carlin, Andrea Koeber, Elijah Luebbe and Kacey Nelkin Pedersen of the Office of Research and Economic Development’s Sponsored Programs office were selected for the Society of Research Administrators International’s Future of the Field recognition program, which aims to shine a light on up-and-comers innovating and influencing the research administration profession. The four were selected by a committee of peers from among more than 100 nominations around the globe. Selection was based on candidates’ career history, exceptional professional growth and significant contributions to advancing research administration. They were formally recognized at SRA International’s annual meeting in October in New Orleans.

  • Andrew Hamann, research assistant professor of biological systems engineering, was selected to receive the 2022 American Society of Gene and Cell Therapy Career Development Award. Hamann is one of six researchers to receive this early career award, which are annually awarded from the society. The award comes with a $100,000 grant to pursue innovative gene therapy research.

  • Dustin Loy, associate professor of veterinary medicine and biomedical sciences, received the Outstanding Young Alumni Award from the Iowa State University Alumni Association. The award was presented as part of Iowa State’s homecoming celebration in October. Learn more about Loy’s work on campus and in the field, including service on the Pew Trust’s “Stand Up to Superbugs” project.

  • Claire Stewart, dean of University Libraries, has been named to the American Council of Learned Societies’ new Commission on Fostering and Sustaining Diverse Digital Scholarship. The commission, which is supported by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and National Endowment for the Humanities, will seek to identify solutions to equitable access to the creation of digital resource snd projects related to social and racial equity.

  • Pat Tetreault, director of the LGBTQA+ Resource Center and the Women’s Resource Center, was awarded the Voice of Inclusion award by the College Student Educators International and will be recognized during the annual conference in early March. Established in 2002, the honor recognizes members who use their voice to make their campuses, the association and the field a more equitable, inclusive and just place.

  • Vinodchandran Variyam, professor of computing, received the 2022 ACM SIGMOD Research Highlight Award for his paper, “Model Counting meets F0 Estimation.” The paper was co-authored with Pavan Aduri, Iowa State University, and Arnab Bhattacharya and Kuldeep S. Meel, National University of Singapore. The honor showcases a set of research projects that exemplify core database research. The projects must address an important problem, represent a definitive milestone in solving the problem, and have the potential of significant impact. Learn more about the work and award.

  • Members associated with Qualitative and Mixed Methods Interest Group, sponsored by the university’s Social and Behavioral Sciences Research Consortium, delivered online presentations on qualitative scholarship to the sixth World Conference on Qualitative Research hosted in Barcelona (Spain) on Jan. 27. Campus participants included Wayne Babchuk, educational psychology; Dawn O. Braithwaite, communication studies; Rochelle L. Dalla, child, youth and family studies; and Katie M. Edwards, Nebraska Center for Research on Children, Youth, Families and Schools, and educational psychology.

Doctoral students Anthony Amori, Henry Doku, Hafith Furqoni, Deepak Ghimire, Balpreet Kaur Dhatt, Rituraj Khound, Fernanda Krupek, Gonzalo Rizzo, Arshdeep Singh, Jaspinder Singh and Caleb Wehrbein receive fellowships and awards.

  • Eleven agronomy and horticulture doctoral students were honored with fellowships and awards from the College of Agricultural and Natural Resources, Agricultural Research Division, Water for Food Daugherty Global Institute and Crop Science Society of America. Those receiving awards were Anthony Amori, Henry Doku, Hafith Furqoni, Deepak Ghimire, Balpreet Kaur Dhatt, Rituraj Khound, Fernanda Krupek, Gonzalo Rizzo, Arshdeep Singh, Jaspinder Singh and Caleb Wehrbein. Learn more about the honors.


  • Jerry Volesky, professor of agronomy and horticulture, and a Nebraska Extension range and forage specialist in the West Central Research, Extension and Education Center in North Platte, has been named interim director of the Center for Grassland Studies. A search is being conducted and the position is expected to be filled in early 2022.


  • Mark Hinchman, professor of interior design, published a new book, “The Fairchild Books Dictionary of Interior Design,” in November. Published through Fairchild Books-Bloomsbury, the dictionary is focused on the terminology used by interior designers today. It features definitions of processes, techniques, features and historical terms that are the basics of the field. It also includes coverage of sustainability, smart materials and new technologies/processes as well as expanded information on the influences of non-Western cultures on the global marketplace. Learn more about the book.

  • The Center on Children, Families and the Law published and distributed its 2020-2021 annual report in December. The publication featured a focus on commitment, collaboration and community. Featured projects highlight the center’s work with local and national partners on early childhood mental health, child welfare, youth justice, community health and homelessness prevention. The report is available online.

This column is a regular feature of Nebraska Today. Faculty, staff and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column via email to For more information, call 402-472-8515.

Recent News