Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for Jan. 10

· 4 min read

Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for Jan. 10

Innovation Campus
Craig Chandler | University Communication
Nebraska Innovation Campus

Recent achievements for the campus community were collected by Kimberly Chungong, Brie Frickenstein, Jordan Gonzales, Chris Goulet, Celine Haynes, Kaleb Kindler, Rich Leiter, Maria B. Marron, Edwin Mendez-Rodriguez, Brock Vetick, College of Law clinic staff, and faculty and staff in the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources.


  • Two undergraduate students in the College of Journalism and Mass Communications, Celine Haynes and Kimberly Chungong, have been named Most Promising Multicultural Students for 2020 by the American Advertising Federation. As part of the honor, students attend a three-day conference in New York City in February, where they connect with other multicultural college seniors and advertising industry professionals.

  • Chris Goulet, senior percussion performance major, recently received an Armand Zildjian Percussion Scholarship at the Percussive Arts Society International Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana. The scholarship is awarded to one college student in the country each year. Goulet received the award after submitting videos of his orchestral percussion work.

  • Edwin Mendez-Rodriguez, freshman undeclared major, along with partners Kaleb Kindler, junior agribusiness major, and Brock Vetick, junior agricultural economics major, are winners of the inaugural Husker Hustle scholarship competition for aspiring or established entrepreneurs. During the competition, which was hosted in December in Hawks Hall, 10 finalists gave 15-minute business pitches to a panel of judges for a chance to win one of two $2,500 scholarships.

Lianna Walker
Craig Chandler | University Communication
Lianna Walker, right, with associate professor of animal science Daniel Ciobanu.

  • Lianna Walker, doctoral biological sciences student, was honored with the Lauren Christian Graduate Student Award at the National Swine Improvement Federation meeting in Indianapolis Dec. 5-6. The $500 award recognizes Walker’s research contributions to the understanding of the host genetic role in Porcine circovirus 2 susceptibility. She is the first University of Nebraska–Lincoln student to be honored since the award’s inception in 1994.

  • Faculty and staff from the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources were recognized for their work during an internal awards luncheon Dec. 9 at the Nebraska Innovation Campus Conference Center.

  • Staff in the College of Law’s clinics were recognized last month for their work with the Veterans Advocacy Project, which addresses the lack of affordable legal services for veterans through a variety of programs. Clinic members were presented with challenge coins by Joe Brownell, director of Nebraska’s Military and Veteran Success Center.


  • Two university staff members have been appointed to leadership positions within the Lincoln Young Professionals Group. Jordan Gonzales, director of alumni engagement at the Nebraska Alumni Association, was elected as the organization’s chair for 2020. Brie Frickenstein, NEP extension assistant at Nebraska Extension, was elected as vice chair. The group was established in 2007 by the Lincoln Chamber of Commerce to unite young professionals across Lincoln in an environment of learning, networking and entrepreneurship.

  • Rich Leiter, professor of law, has been named chair-elect for the Association of American Law Schools Law Libraries and Legal Information Section. The section promotes the communication of ideas, interests and activities among members, provides a forum for the presentation of research reports and scholarly papers relating to law libraries, and makes recommendations to the Association on matters concerning academic law libraries.


  • Maria B. Marron, professor of journalism, is the editor of new book “Misogyny and Media in the Age of Trump.” Published in Dec. 2019, the work covers topics including misogyny in the 21st century; misogyny and the #MeToo movement; misogyny, media and religion; and misogyny and the media from a U.S. perspective.

This column is a regular feature of Nebraska Today. Faculty, staff and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column via email to For more information, call 402-472-8515.

Celine Haynes
Courtesy | AAF
Celine Haynes
Kimberly Chungong
Courtesy | AAF
Kimberly Chungong
Chris Goulet
Lianna Walker accepts the Lauren Christian Graduate Student Award
IANR faculty and staff
Joe Brownell, left, with law clinic staff members
Jordan Gonzales
Brie Frickenstein
Rich Leiter
Maria B. Marron

Recent News