Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for Aug. 26

· 3 min read

Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for Aug. 26

Catch up on the achievements our Husker faculty, staff, and students from this summer, as well as faculty publications in the news.

Recent achievements for the campus community were earned by Andrea Basche, David Berkowitz, Ranjeet Dhokale, Phil Geib, Patricio Grassini, Christopher McCune, Kristin Malek, Stephany Ramos De Dios, Virendra Tiwari, Michael Tross and Katherine Walter.


  • Andrea Basche, assistant professor in cropping systems in the Department of Agronomy and Horticulture, will be formally presented with the American Society of Agronomy Early Career Award at the ASA Awards Ceremony Nov. 8 during the scientific society’s Annual Meeting in Baltimore, Maryland. Basche has a primary teaching appointment at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln and instructs Plant and Landscape Systems 204 Resource Efficient Crop Management, 405 Crop Management Strategies and 425 Cover Crops in Agroecosystems.

  • Phil Geib, associate professor of practice of anthropology in the School of Global Integrative Studies, has received the Byron Cummings Award from the Arizona Archaeological and Historical Society. It was presented to him at the annual Pecos Conference on August 13. The award is given for outstanding research and contributions to knowledge in anthropology or research pertaining to the southwestern United States or northwest Mexico.

  • Patricio Grassini, associate professor of agronomy and horticulture, has been named the Sunkist Fiesta Bowl Distinguished Professor in Agronomy. The professorship is a gift from the Sunkist Fiesta Bowl of Tempe, Arizona, to the University of Nebraska Foundation to recognize a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching, extension and/or research in agronomy related to sustainability, resource efficiency or environmental quality.

  • Kristin Malek, assistant professor and event management extension specialist in the Department of Nutrition and Health Sciences, has been honored with the Excellence in Teaching Award from the International Council on Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education. The Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes an International CHRIE member for the individual’s implementation of innovative, creative, and effective teaching techniques in culinary, hospitality, or tourism education at the secondary school, diploma, college, university or organization level. Malek received the award at the International CHRIE’s annual conference in Washington D.C. on Aug. 13.

  • Michael Tross, a doctoral student studying integrated plant biology, is the recipient of the competitive Developing Emerging Leaders and Talent in Agriculture Fellowship from Corteva Agriscience. Tross is advised by James Schnable, NU Department of Agronomy and Horticulture professor and the Dr. Charles O. Gardner Professor of Agronomy. The Corteva DELTA fellowship is a two-phased program encouraging diverse talent to apply their skills toward sustainable and reliable food production. This program includes a research grant for graduate students and postdocs, as well as participation in an annual symposium.

  • Katherine Walter, professor emerita of of digital initiatives and Special Collections at University Libraries, will received the 2022 Sower Award in the Humanities from Humanities Nebraska. Walter will be honored on Sept. 28 at the benefit dinner immediately preceding the 27th Annual Governor’s Lecture in the Humanities at the Lied Center for Performing Arts in Lincoln. Walter also was the founding director of the Center for Digital Research in the Humanities.


  • Chemical Reviews cover
    American Chemical Society
    A review article from the lab of David Berkowitz, Willa Cather Professor of Chemistry, is featured on the cover of Chemical Reviews, a journal published by the American Chemical Society. The review, “Biomacromolecule-Assisted Screening for Reaction Discovery and Catalyst Optimization,” was co-authored by doctoral alumni Stephany Ramos De Dios and Christopher McCune, postdoctoral researcher Virendra Tiwari, and former Husker postdoc Ranjeet Dhokale. To read the review, click here.

Recent News