Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for April 16

· 3 min read

Achievements | Honors, appointments, publications for April 16

Jesse Fleming, “NUCLEI.”
Work by Nebraska's Jesse Fleming, including this design, is on display in his "Nuclei" exhibition at the Five Car Garage gallery in California.

Recent achievements for the campus community were earned by Michael Anderson, Jennifer Beres, Shudipto Dishari, Jesse Fleming, Casey Hoeve, Alli Johnson, Kathrynne Nail, Brock Priebe, Rebeccah Stolpa, Joshua Miranda Teo and Judy Walker.


  • Shudipto Dishari, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, is the first College of Engineering faculty member to receive the 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award. The award recognizes outstanding young faculty who excel in STEM research and academic leadership, aiming to help those faculty achieve tenure. Read the full story here.

  • Jesse Flemming, assistant professor of emerging media arts, has a body of work on display at Five Car Garage, a contemporary art gallery located in Santa Monica, California. The “Nuclei” exhibition is on display through April 17. View an excerpt from the particle simulation that accompanies “Nuclei” in the video below.

Nuclei // excerpt // screen recording
Video: "Nuclei" by Jesse Fleming

  • Joshua Miranda Teo, graduate student in agronomy and horticulture, received the Western Society of Weed Science Elena Sanchez Outstanding Student Award during the virtual 2021 annual meeting March 1–4. This award goes to outstanding WSWS student members currently conducting research relevant to weed science. Read the full story here.

  • Judy Walker, Aaron Douglas Professor of Mathematics and associate vice chancellor for faculty and academic affairs, has been named a recipient of the 2021 Outstanding Achievement Award by the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Department of Mathematics. The award recognizes her career, leadership and contributions to the advancement of mathematics and inclusion. Read the full release here.

  • Six Nebraska students received the William N. Wasson Student Leadership and Academic Award presented by the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association. Nebraska’s recipients this year are Michael Anderson, a senior accounting major from Firth, Nebraska; Brock Priebe, a senior in nutrition, exercise and health science from Lincoln; Rebeccah Stolpa, a senior marketing and management double-major from Hartland, Wisconsin; Alli Johnson, a senior veterinary science major from Hastings, Nebraska; Jennifer Beres, a graduate student in community nutrition and health promotion from Libertyville, Illinois; and Kathrynne Nail, a graduate student in higher education administration from Columbia, Missouri.


  • Casey Hoeve, head of content and collections and associate professor with University Libraries, has been elected to serve on a leadership team for the Collection Development Officer/Electronic Resource Officer’s group, coordinated by the Big Ten Academic Alliance. The team will help guide the conversation on leading the Big Ten Libraries into new areas of collaboration, sustainability, and supportive and diverse collections.

This column is a regular feature of Nebraska Today. Faculty, staff and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column via email to For more information, call 402-472-8515.

Recent News