Achievements | Honors, appointments and publications for Sept. 8

· 3 min read

Achievements | Honors, appointments and publications for Sept. 8

Students enjoy the free concert by Maude Latour.
Jonah Tran | University Communication and Marketing
Students enjoy the free concert by Maude Latour outside the Lied Center for Performing Arts.

Recent achievements for the campus community were earned by Jeffrey L. Day, Shudipto Dishari, Tony Falcone, Jill Martin, Christal Sheppard, Brett Stohs, and Brenda Wristen.


  • Shudipto Dishari, Ross McCollum Associate Professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, was honored by the American Chemical Society and its Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering division as one of the recipients of its 2023 Early Stage Investigator Award. The award is given annually to emerging leaders in the field of polymer science and engineering across academia, industry, and national labs who are no more than seven years beyond the start of their independent research careers.

  • Tony Falcone, associate director of bands and director of the Cornhusker Marching Band in the Glenn Korff School of Music, received the Kappa Kappa Psi Distinguished Service to Music Medal at the Kappa Kappa Psi and Tau Beta Sigma National Convention in Orlando in July. The Distinguished Service to Music Medal is the highest award presented by the national honorary band fraternity. It was instituted in 1963 to honor outstanding individual contributions to bands.

  • Jill Martin, assistant professor of practice in journalism, earned the Distinguished Teaching in Journalism Award from the Society of Professional Journalists. Each year, SPJ honors an outstanding journalism educator and recognizes their exceptional teaching abilities and commitment to upholding the profession’s highest standards. Martin won this year with detailed letters from faculty and current students that demonstrates her extensive background and commitment to connecting students to real-world learning initiatives.

  • Brenda Wristen, professor of piano and piano pedagogy in the Glenn Korff School of Music, received an Outstanding Service Recognition Award by the Frances Clark Center for Keyboard Pedagogy at the National Conference on Keyboard Pedagogy, a leading event for piano teachers with an international audience, held in July in Illinois.


  • Jeffrey L. Day, professor in the College of Architecture, has been appointed as president-elect for the National Architectural Accrediting Board starting this November, and in 2025 he will serve as president. Day was originally nominated to serve on the board in 2022 by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture. Day serves with 13 other NAAB voting board members. The ACSA, the American Institute of Architects and the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards each nominate three directors; the American Institute of Architecture Students nominates two; and there are two public directors. The NAAB Board meets at least three times a year to consider official business including accreditation decisions.

  • Christal Sheppard, a lecturer in the College of Law, has accepted a position on the American Intellectual Property Law Association’s Board of Directors for a 3-year term beginning in October 2023. Sheppard has also been appointed as vice-chair to the National Collegiate Athletics Association Research Review Board. The RRB is an independent committee that oversees NCAA research for compliance with federal regulations regarding human subject research.

  • Brett Stohs, associate professor of law and the Cline Williams director of the Weibling Entrepreneurship Clinic, has been selected to participate as a fellow in the 2023-34 Nebraska State Bar Association Leadership Academy. The academy aims to develop the leadership skills of participants to allow them to make greater contributions to the legal profession and their community.

Recent News