Achievements | Honors, appointments and publications for April 19

· 5 min read

Achievements | Honors, appointments and publications for April 19

Framed by the sculpture Fragment X-O, Paige Vose (center), Makena Niehause and Evan Mott (back to camera) enjoy the sunshine and prefect spring weather at the Sheldon sculpture garden on April 17.
Craig Chandler | University Communication and Marketing
Framed by the sculpture Fragment X-O, Paige Vose (center), Makena Niehause and Evan Mott (back to camera) enjoy the sunshine and prefect spring weather at the Sheldon sculpture garden on April 17.

Recent achievements for the campus community were earned by Andrea Basche, Rick Bevins, Kristen Blankley, Molly Brummond, Tom Clemente, Alyssa Grube, Danielle Jefferis, Amit Jhala, Cassandra Kostal, Sheree Moser, Mia Sadlouskos and Kristy Weissling.


  • Andrea Basche, associate professor in cropping systems, was honored with the American Society of Agronomy Environmental Quality Section Inspiring Early Career Scientist Award, presented by the Environmental Quality Community. The award “recognizes worthy professionals who have made an outstanding contribution toward sustaining agriculture through Environmental Quality research, teaching, extension/public service or industry activity.”

  • Rick Bevins earned a MED Associates Brady-Schuster Award from Division 28 of the Society for Psychopharmacology and Substance Use for “…sustained record (at least 15 years past doctoral degree) of substantial contributions in the areas of scientific research, mentorship, and service.” Bevins is Mildred Francis Thompson Professor of Psychology, associate vice chancellor for research, and director of the Rural Drug Addiction Research Center.

  • Molly Brummond, assistant dean of the College of Law, earned the Ms. JD Limitless Leadership Award in recognition of her outstanding contributions to empowering and advancing women in the legal profession.

  • Tom Elmo Clemente, a distinguished figure in the realm of plant genetics and biotechnology, has been honored with the Larry Tonniges Research Achievement Award for his groundbreaking contributions to soybean research. The award, which was made possible by the family of the late Larry Tonniges, a longtime Nebraska farmer who was dedicated to production research as part of the Nebraska Soybean Board, honors researchers who have made significant contributions to soybean research for NSB.

  • Alyssa Grube, graduate student in chemical engineering, took first place in the 2024 Student Research Days Science Slam March 29. Her five-minute slam presentation covered how her research in wearable technology stems from her love of fashion, which she developed when she taught herself to knit as a child. Read more about the Science Slam.

  • Danielle Jefferis, professor in the College of Law, has been named the 2024 recipient of the Rev. Dr. Michael W. Combs Memorial Fund for Scholars of Equality and Justice Award for Faculty, presented by the Institute for Ethnic Studies. The Combs Award recognizes faculty members whose teaching on issues pertaining to ethnicity, race, class and nationality are innovative yet grounded. The recipient demonstrates disciplinary rigor and awareness of the need for methodologies and perspectives that challenge institutional problems on behalf of communities that are historically impacted.

  • Amit Jhala was honored with Merit in Research Award by Gamma Sigma Delta, during the annual reception of Nebraska Chapter in Lincoln on April 1. Jhala is a professor, associate department head, and Nebraska Extension weed management specialist in the Department of Agronomy and Horticulture.

  • Cassandra Kostal, a third-year law student, has been named the Nebraska State Bar Association 2024 Rise Award Recipient. The Rise Award is given to a law student from each of Nebraska’s law schools for their exemplary dedication to, and contributions in support of, programs sponsored by the Nebraska Lawyers Foundation throughout their law school career. Kostal has supported the Debtor Defense Project, the Naturalization Clinic hosted by the Nebraska Law Immigration Clinic, and has volunteered more than 300 hours to the Tenant Assistance Project.

  • Sheree Moser, assistant professor of practice in child, youth and family studies, was honored with the 2024 IDEA Faculty Excellence Award. Established in 2011, the Faculty Excellence Award recognizes a significant contribution of faculty in an academic program through the Innovative Digital Education Alliance. Moser was one of two individuals to receive the award at the IDEA annual conference in Kansas City, Missouri.

  • Mia Sadlouskos, a junior marketing and broadcasting major from Lithia, Florida, was selected for an award from the Omaha Press Club Foundation. She will receive the $2,500 Judy Horan Scholarship, which honors a longtime Omaha Press Club reporter and former promotion and marketing director at WOWT-TV.

  • Kristy Weissling, professor of practice and interim chair in the Department of Special Education and Communication Disorders, has been selected as the recipient of the 2024 Donald R. and Mary Lee Swanson Award for Teaching Excellence. The annual award honors exemplary teaching in the College of Education and Human Sciences. It is the highest teaching honor awarded in the college. Weissling will be recognized for the honor on April 26.


  • Kristen Blankley, professor in the College of Law, has been elected chair of the Section on Alternative Dispute Resolution for the Association of American Law Schools. In her role as chair, she will oversee the Section’s Works-in-Progress Conference, two section awards, and a new mentorship program. The Section on Alternative Dispute Resolution promotes members’ interests, activities, and communication of ideas, and provides a forum for discussion of matters of interest in the teaching, research, and improvement of the law and practice relating to Alternative Dispute Resolution, including negotiation, arbitration, mediation, and other dispute resolution processes.

Recent News