69 students chosen as Nebraska Young Artist Award winners

· 4 min read

69 students chosen as Nebraska Young Artist Award winners


The University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts has announced the winners of the 24th annual Nebraska Young Artist Awards.

The awards recognize 11th-grade students from Nebraska for their talents in visual art, dance, music, theatre, and film and emerging media arts.

Sixty-nine students from more than 30 high schools across the state have been selected as award winners. Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the day of activities originally scheduled for April 7 has been canceled. Students will receive their award by mail and will be recognized on the Hixson-Lied College’s social media on April 7.

“While we are disappointed that the pandemic will prevent us from recognizing these talented students in person again this year, we are thrilled to recognize these artists from across the state,” said Alfonzo Cooper Jr., director of recruitment for the college and coordinator of the awards. “These students exemplify the pinnacles of creativity in their respective areas of interest. We encourage them to continue to develop their talents in the arts.”

Students applied for the recognition and submitted an example of their work. Applications were received from 115 students. Hixson-Lied College faculty chose the winners.

Award winners were also asked to nominate the teacher who provided them with the greatest amount of mentoring and support in the development of their special talents.

Students will receive a certificate and an original piece of artwork commissioned for the event and created by a School of Art, Art History and Design printmaking student.

Following is a list of award winners by hometown, with their high school and specialty area(s).

Alvo: Regan Wiseman, Waverly, music

Arlington: Stella Lewis, Arlington, dance

Bellevue: Kevin Lloyd, Bellevue West, music

Bennington: Riley Hoefer, Omaha Skutt Catholic, film and emerging media arts

Blair: Caitlyn Haggstrom, Blair, music; Adeline Stanley, Blair, music

Broken Bow: Anna Lindstrom, Broken Bow, visual arts

Chadron: Claire Fox, Chadron, dance; Madison Waugh, Chadron, visual arts

Cozad: Isabella Klein, Cozad, dance; Alyssa Kolbo, Cozad, dance; Tara Linn, Cozad, dance; Katie Wilson, Cozad, dance

Dodge: Lilly Praest, Howells-Dodge, visual arts; Kennady Schmidt, Howells-Dodge, visual arts

Eagle: Wyatt Daake, Waverly, music

Firth: Elizabeth Rohrer, Norris, music

Glenvil: Madaline McDaniel, Adams Central, visual arts

Grand Island: Josiah Rose, Grand Island, visual arts

Gretna: Eliza Young, home school, music

Howells: Richard Bayer, Howells-Dodge, visual arts; Abigayle Vogel, Howells-Dodge, visual arts

Kearney: Katie Gomez, Kearney, dance; Mackenzie Krull, Kearney, theatre arts; Krista Lee, Kearney Catholic, visual arts; Rilynn Lutt, Kearney, visual arts; Maddie McGowen, Kearney Catholic, visual arts; Benjamin Rothermich, Kearney, music

Kimball: Chloe Berger, home school, music; Patrick Mars, home school, music

Lincoln: Hajer Al-Eid, Lincoln North Star, visual arts; Stephanie Amend, Lincoln Southwest, dance; Michael Angelbeck, home school, music; Cathy Apolot, Lincoln Northeast, music; Samantha Brayton, Lincoln Arts and Humanities, visual arts; Nina Campbell, Lincoln East, visual arts; Katie Craig, Lincoln Southeast, theatre arts; Anna Dvorak, Lincoln Southeast, theatre arts; Claire Ehlers, Lincoln East, music; Hannah Farr, Lincoln North Star, music; Yanori Ferguson, Lincoln High, music; Marielle Hinrichs, Lincoln Southeast, music and theatre arts; Riley Kalnins, Lincoln East, music; Cadan Kontos, Lincoln Southeast, music; Lena lankas, Lincoln East, dance; Abby Lewis, Lincoln East, music; Jaxon Luzum, Lincoln Arts and Humanities, visual arts; Marcus McLaughlin, Lincoln High, music; Alanis Roldan, Lincoln High, visual arts; Zeph Siebler, Lincoln High, music

Norfolk: Marlee Weidner, Norfolk, dance; Daniel Weitzmann, Norfolk, music; Melanie Yover, Norfolk, music

Omaha: Aaron Beacham, Millard North, music; Leah Faber, Millard South, music; Daisy Friedman, Omaha Central, theatre arts; Melody Hong, Millard North, music; Anjali Jayan, Millard North, music; Brenna Jean-Paul, Omaha North, visual arts; Riya Kannapareddy, Millard North, visual arts; Makayla Kennedy, Omaha Mercy, visual arts; Abby Murray, Millard South, music; Lucia Revollo, Omaha South Magnet, dance; Emily Rimington, Millard North, music; Anthony Waadah, Omaha Burke, film and emerging media arts; Kara Walters, Omaha Skutt Catholic, visual arts; Leo Wolcott, Millard West, music; Justin Ye, Millard West, music

Waverly: Xander Baker, Waverly, music

Recent News