42 students chosen for Nebraska Business Honors Academy

· 4 min read

42 students chosen for Nebraska Business Honors Academy

Forty-two students have been selected for the fifth cohort of the Nebraska Business Honors Academy.
Craig Chandler | University Communication
Forty-two students have been selected for the fifth cohort of the Nebraska Business Honors Academy.

Forty-two recent high school graduates have been selected to join the Nebraska Business Honors Academy at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln this fall. This will be the fifth group to join the academy since its founding in 2013.

“The continuous increase in the number of excellent applicants who apply to the Honors Academy each year speaks to its quality,” said Kathy Farrell, interim dean and State Farm Professor of Finance in the College of Business. “Those selected went through a rigorous application process and were selected based on their scholastic achievement, exceptional leadership and communication skills, and desire to become future leaders in business.”

The cohort includes students from 11 states, including all areas of Nebraska, who plan to study in nine academic majors within the College of Business. They will complete most of their core and foundation business curriculum together using an action-based learning style focused on the development of critical thinking, and technical and communication skills.

“This group brings a unique set of skills and achievements coupled with the desire to challenge themselves and find ways to positively impact the academy, the College of Business and the university as a whole,” said Erin Burnette, academy director. “Our staff is eager to help this cohort learn, grow and realize their potential as they progress through their college career.”

Academy students participate in leadership activities, competitions, internships and global immersion experiences. Students receive a $2,500 scholarship to study abroad, and current academy students are studying abroad in three continents this summer. Additionally, 40 percent of academy students are participating in paid summer internships across nine states.

On-campus, academy students serve in a variety of prominent leadership roles and in over 120 student organizations. They are also heavily engaged in philanthropy in Lincoln, where they volunteered over 2,000 hours in the last academic year with over 100 local organizations. The academy’s inaugural cohort graduated in May, and these alumni will take their talents to careers and graduate schools spanning 11 states and two countries.

Applications for the 2018 cohort are accepted through Oct. 15. To learn more about the Nebraska Business Honors Academy, click here.

The following students will join the Nebraska Business Honors Academy in fall 2017. The student’s high school is included in parentheses if it differs from the hometown.


  • Bridgeport: Karsen Stull, finance
  • Columbus: Haley Faust, business administration (Scotus Central Catholic)
  • Cortland: Kaitlyn Meints, marketing (Daniel Freeman)
  • Dakota City: Nicholas Lennon, actuarial science (Sergeant Bluff-Luton)
  • Deshler: Braelyn Isernhagen, actuarial science
  • Grand Island: Coleman Cooper, business administration (Northwest)
  • Gretna: Cade Crowell, business administration; Lauren Leapley, accounting; Amanda Purintun, international business
  • Kearney: Mason Ellis, business administration
  • Lincoln: Olivia Coffey, international business (Pius X); Joseph Dawson, finance (Pius X); Lane Knott, business administration (Southwest); Kyle Kramer, economics (Pius X); Brock Wordekemper, finance (Pius X)
  • Omaha: Emily Kate Alston, business administration (Westside); Cameron Claborn, business administration (Central); Charles Erker, actuarial science (Creighton Prep); Justin Myers, business administration (home school); Grace Novak, marketing (Mercy); Lane Stilmock, actuarial science (Millard West)
  • Papillion: Kyler Caverzagie, actuarial science (Papillion-La Vista South)
  • Valley: Allison Stromp, accounting (Elkhorn South)
  • Waverly: Mary Morton, management


  • Valencia, California: Joel Beckwith, marketing (Learning Post)
  • Fort Collins, Colorado: Peyton Walker, supply chain management
  • Atlanta, Georgia: William Grattan-Smith, finance (Atlanta International)
  • Chicago, Illinois: Kirk Cherry, actuarial science (Notre Dame College Prep)
  • Columbia, Illinois: Benjamin Spargo, actuarial science
  • Lake Villa, Illinois: Logan Lewis, actuarial science (Grant)
  • Naperville, Illinois: Austin Vandersteen, finance (Neuqua Valley)
  • North Barrington, Illinois: Nicholas Ehmcke, business administration (Barrington)
  • Pella, Iowa: Katelyn Bonham, actuarial science
  • Clearwater, Kansas: Sarah Rakes, business administration
  • Olathe, Kansas: Lauren Niesen, actuarial science (St. James Academy)
  • Stilwell, Kansas: Brooke Hagel, marketing (Blue Valley)
  • St. Paul, Minnesota: Charles Kramer, actuarial science (Mounds Park Academy)
  • Woodbury, Minnesota: Alejandro Sanchez, finance
  • Lee’s Summit, Missouri: Kayla Brumley, management (Lee’s Summit West)
  • Pierre, South Dakota: Jessica Weber, actuarial science (Theodore F. Riggs)
  • Sioux Falls, South Dakota: Michael Schneider, actuarial science (Roosevelt)
  • North Prairie, Wisconsin: Evan Steinberger, actuarial science (Mukwonago)

Recent News