40 first-year students join Nebraska Business Honors Academy

· 4 min read

40 first-year students join Nebraska Business Honors Academy

Forty first-year students will join the Nebraska Business Honors Academy at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln this fall. The cohort will develop skills through an enhanced curriculum.
Forty first-year students will join the Nebraska Business Honors Academy at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln this fall. The cohort will develop skills through an enhanced curriculum.

Forty incoming first-year students have accepted invitations to join the Nebraska Business Honors Academy at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln this fall. It will be the ninth cohort since the academy’s founding in 2013.

“This new cohort exemplifies how Huskers create the future they want to see,” said Kathy Farrell, James Jr. and Susan Stuart Endowed Dean of the College of Business. “They bring to Nebraska Business extensive experiences in leadership and academic achievements. We are excited to welcome them to Nebraska and help prepare them to lead the future of business.”

The cohort hails from nine states, including towns across Nebraska, and plans to study in eight academic majors within the College of Business. The students will complete most of their core and foundation business curriculum together using an action-based learning style focused on the development of critical thinking, technical and communication skills.

The new students will participate in leadership activities and student competitions across the country to enhance their professional communication. Additionally, they will participate in internships and study abroad experiences. On campus, academy students are involved in more than 150 student organizations and serve in a variety of leadership roles. This summer, 40% of academy students are participating in paid internships in eight states. The academy has now graduated five cohorts, and these alumni have taken their talents to careers and graduate schools spanning 24 states and four countries.

“We’re incredibly excited to welcome our ninth cohort to the academy,” said Erin Burnette, director of the academy. “This group has overcome such a tumultuous end to their high school careers and brings such genuine excitement to the prospect of starting their time at Nebraska. They are bright, eager and community-focused individuals, and I have no doubt they will quickly find ways to positively impact the academy, the College of Business and the university as a whole. Our team feels very honored to be able to have a front-row seat as we help this cohort learn, grow and realize their potential as they progress through their college career.”

Applications for the 2022 cohort will be accepted through Nov. 15. To learn more, click here.

The following students will join the fall 2021 cohort of the Nebraska Business Honors Academy. The student’s high school is included in parentheses if it differs from the hometown.



  • Jillian Buell, marketing (Rock County)


  • Avery Plessel, marketing


  • Baden Brumbaugh, economics (Bellevue West)


  • Ethan Heinemann, accounting

Broken Bow:

  • Cami Schweitzer, accounting


  • Tram Ngo, international business


  • Karissa Hodge, marketing (Eustis-Farnam)


  • Makenna Henning, business administration


  • Cassidy Hoffman, accounting


  • Kaiden Bedient, finance (Pius X)
  • Anna Coffey, finance (Pius X)
  • Jenna Derowitsch, accounting (Lincoln Southwest)
  • Andrew Foley, business administration (Pius X)
  • Tyler Vander Woude, business administration (Lincoln Southeast)
  • Jacob Whiston, business administration (Lincoln East)
  • Grady Works, business administration (Lincoln Southwest)


  • Benjamin Spray, business administration


  • Hannah Coldiron, business administration (Duchesne Academy)
  • Grant Kingston, actuarial science (Elkhorn South)
  • Jessica Li, international business (Millard North)
  • Olivia Palmer, marketing (Millard South)
  • Leo Ray, finance (Omaha Central)
  • Meg Williams, business administration (Millard South)


  • Cade Swanson, actuarial science (Papillion-La Vista South)


  • Parker Barry, economics (Lincoln Southeast)

Rising City:

  • Kira Pavlik, accounting (Shelby-Rising City)


Temecula, California:

  • Amber Hanson, business administration (Vista Murrieta)

Glen Carbon, Illinois:

  • Braden Starck, finance (Edwardsville)
  • Jack Wise, international business (Edwardsville)

Sioux Center, Iowa:

  • Ellie Hurst, actuarial science

Lawrence, Kansas:

  • Jonathan Patton, accounting (Lawrence Free State)

Leawood, Kansas:

  • Ike McLey, finance (Shawnee Mission South)

Lenexa, Kansas:

  • Megan Berg, actuarial science (Olathe Northwest)

Chesterfield, Michigan:

  • Lucas Michalowicz, actuarial science (International Academy Macomb)

Lakeville, Minnesota:

  • Sophie Thomas, marketing (Lakeville North)

Shakopee, Minnesota:

  • Carly Gorter, business administration

Woodbury, Minnesota:

  • Daniel Koland, marketing (East Ridge)

Lee’s Summit, Missouri:

  • Garrett Smith, marketing (Lee’s Summit West)

Brookfield, Wisconsin:

  • Natalie Karrels, supply chain management (Brookfield East)

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin:

  • John Trilling, business administration

Recent News